Mixing Subversion client versions

Different svn versions can checkout from, and commit to, the same project without difficulty. The only place you might run into trouble is if you share a working copy between different versions; in other words, if you copy the files you checked out to a machine with a different version of svn.

If you're moving from an older version to a newer one, there's no problem; the working copy will automatically be upgraded.

However, if you're moving from a newer version to an older one, it likely won't be able to work with the new working copy.

The best way to avoid this situation is to check out a fresh working copy on each machine you'll be working on, instead of copying files around.

-- brodbd - 02 Feb 2009

Topic revision: r1 - 2009-02-02 - 17:11:59 - brodbd
 

This site is powered by the TWiki collaboration platformCopyright & by the contributing authors. All material on this collaboration platform is the property of the contributing authors.
Ideas, requests, problems regarding TWiki? Send feedback
Privacy Statement Terms & Conditions