News & Awards


Jenell Stewart was invited to give an alumni panel oral presentation and present a poster of her global health research at the 2014 Fogarty Global Health Fellows Orientation Conference at the NIH. Her first-authored poster was entitled: "Prevalence of Human Papillomavirus Infection Among Male clients of Female Sex Workers in Callao, Peru: Venue-Based Sample Collection".

Medicine Resident Excellence in Teaching Awards for 2013-14

Left to right: Elise Willis, Dan Doan, Jehan Budak, Meghaan Walsh, Jamie Rosenthal, Jesse Salk, Tiffany Chen, Stephanie Deeds. Not pictured: Victor Chow, Andrew Harris.

The Medicine Resident Excellence in Teaching Awards for 2013-14 were announced at Grand Rounds yesterday. The following were honored in recognition of outstanding commitment to teaching and mentoring medical students:


Victor Chow
Stephanie Deeds
Andrew Harris
Jamie Rosenthal


Jehan Budak
Jesse Salk
Meghaan Walsh


Tiffany Chen
Dan Doan
Elise Willis

Rachel Safyan and Stacy Valkenaar Inducted into Gold Humanism Honor Society

Congratulations to residents Rachel Safyan and Stacy Valkenaar, who were inducted on May 9 as new members of the Gold Humanism Honor Society (GHHS). The GHHS honors those who demonstrate excellence in clinical care, leadership, compassion and dedication to service.


Josh Lascina (R2) was awarded an early career grant for $18,768 from the Thrasher Research Fund. The grant will support Josh's research in western Kenya to characterize derangements in immune signaling and vaccine responses in children infected with parasitic helminths, one of the most prevalent of the neglected tropical diseases. Josh thanks Dr. Judd Walson (ID/GH) for his fantastic mentorship and guidance in making this possible, and for welcoming him to his research team in Kenya. (January 2014)

2014 Northwest SGIM Meeting Awards

  • Best Clinical Innovation Poster - Tiffany Chen

    "Development and implementation of online case-based teaching modules to optimize teaching of subinterns on resident uncovered hospitalist services" - with Susan Merel and Som Mookherjee as faculty co-authors and mentors.

  • Best Oral Presentation (Clinical Vignette) - Mitra Barahimi

    "Too much of 'A' good thing" - with Lauren Beste and Jeremiah Alexander as faculty co-authors and mentors.

Congratulations to the two award winners, to all of the presenters, and to everyone who made the time to come to the conference! And many thanks to the faculty who co-authored and mentored the residents on their work.