UW Women's Center

Previous Institute Speakers

“Great experience,  learned helpful tips. Met amazing,  influential women in Seattle and future women leaders of tomorrow.” – Senait C.


2014 Political Day Panel

Seattle Deputy Mayor Hyeok Kim

WA State Representative Sharon Santos

WA State Senator Jeanne Kohl-Welles

Cindy Domingo , Chief of Staff King County Council member Larry Gossett

Bengui Aguilar,  Sunnyside City Councilmember

Cathy Allen,  Political Consultant and President,  The Connections Group

Nancy Amidei,  Faculty,  University of Washington School of Social Work

Roula Attar,  Program Officer,  Middle East and North Africa team,  National Democratic Institute for International Affairs

Sutapa Basu,  Executive Director,  University of Washington’s Women’s Center

Gursharn Bagri,  Undergraduate Student,  University of Washington and NEW Leadership Puget Sound Staff Member

Chief Clerk Barbara BakerChief Clerks Office,  House of Representatives

Deepa Bhandaru,  Graduate Student,  University of Washington and former NEW Leadership staff member

Jennifer Belcher,  Washington State Commissioner of Public Lands

Katie Bethell,  Assistant Director,  MomsRising.org

Sandy Bjorgen,  Director,  Creative Conversations

Grant Blume,  Evans School of Public Affairs

Heidi Breeze-Harris, Co-Founder,  Executive Director,  One By One

Bobbe Bridge,  Washington State Supreme Court Justice (ret.)

Lonnie Johns-Brown,  Lobbyist

Phyllis Campbell,  Chairman,  Pacific Northwest for JPMorgan Chase & Company

Sally J. Clark,  Seattle City Council Member

Arden Clise,  President,  Clise Etiquette

Mary Clogston,  President,  WA State Chapter, National Organization for Women

Jean Colman,  Executive Director,  Welfare Rights Organizing Coalition

Eileen Concannon,  Lawyer & Former Chair,  Women’s Center Advisory Board

Kimberly CravenGovernors Office of Indian Affairs

Linda Danforth,  District Director,  Congressman Adam Smith

Patricia DavisPort of Seattle Commissioner

Christine DiStefano,  Political Science,  University of Washington and former NEW Leadership Puget Sound Director

Sue Donaldson,  Seattle City Councilmember

Jenny Durkan,  Attorney and Professor,  University of Washington Law School

Maryel Duzan,  Member,  Board of Directors of the Center for Women and Democracy

Trish Millines Dziko,  Co-founder and Executive Director,  Technology Access Foundation

Pamela Eakes,  Founder and President,  Mothers Against Violence in America

Gayatri Eassey,  Associate Director for External Relations – Career Services,  Seattle University

K. Joy Eckwood,  Washington State Field Organizer for The White House Project

Lisa Fischer,  Trainer,  Final Touch Finishing School

Noel Frame, Washington State Director,  Progressive Majority

Mary Gleason,  Non-Profit Consultant,  Mary Gleason Consulting

Christine Gregoire,  Attorney General,  State of Washington

Stephanie Grow,  PATH

Phyllis Gutierrez-Kenney,  Washington State House of Representatives

Jane Hague,  Metropolitan King County Councilmember

Sue Hammell,  Minister of Women’s Equality,  British Columbia, Canada

Cynthia Hansen,  Director of the International Visitors Program,  Seattle World Affairs Council

Judith Hightower,  Seattle Municipal Court Judge

Jennifer Hill,  Co-Chair,  Washington State Women’s Political Caucus

Lorraine Howell,  Founder and President,  Media Skills Training

Cynthia Hansen,  Seattle World Affairs Council

Rosemarie Ives,  Mayor of Redmond, WA

Pramila Jayapal,  Founder and Executive Director,  Hate Free Zone Washington

Lonnie Johns-Brown,  Lobbyist

Deborah Jacobs,  Seattle City Librarian

Clara Jimenez,  Mayor of Toppenish,  WA

Suzanne Keel-Eckmann,  Co-Founder,  GoGirl Academy

Kathy Keolker-Wheeler,  Mayor of Renton,  WA

Lynn Kessler,  Washington State House of Representatives

Jeanne Kohl-Welles,  Washington State Senator

Kelsey Knowles,  Graduate Student,  University of Washington and former NEW Leadership Puget Sound Staff Member

Kathy Kreiter,  Deputy Director,  Washington Lottery

Rachel Latta ,  Assistant Field Director,  The Student PIRGs

Anne Levinson,  Judge

Shaina Lord,  Microfinance Accelerator,  Unitus

Ann Macfarlane,  Executive Director, National Association of Judiciary Interpreters and Translators and Creator,  Jurassic Parliament

Darlene Madenwald,  Principal, Orion Group Associates

Jessica Markowitz,  Founder,  Richard’s Rwanda

Lori Markowitz,  Founder,  Youth Ambassadors

Dawn Mason,  Washington State House of Representatives

Cathy Maynard,  Speaker’s Attorney,  Speaker’s Office – Chopp

Megan McCloskey,  UW Women’s Center Advisory Board Member

Matthew McGarrity,  Communication Department,  University of Washington

Kimberly McKenna,  Executive Director,  Center for Family and Community Leadership,  The Oceanside Institute

Lois McMahan,  Washington State House of Representatives

Cathy McMorris,  Washington State House of Representatives

Chris Megargee,  Global Partnerships

Louise Miller,  King County Councilmember

Liz Mills,  YWCA

Linda Mitchell,  President,  National Women’s Political Caucus of Washington

Alene Morris,  Co-Founder,  University of Washington Women’s Center

Nancy Mueller,  CEO,  International Adaptations

Margo Myers,  Executive Director,  GoGirl Academy

Judy Nicastro,  Seattle City Councilmember

Assunta Ng,  Publisher,  Northwest Asian Weekly

Connie Niva,  Chair,  Washington State Transportation Commission

Lois North,  Central Puget Sound Growth Management Hearings Board

Margaret Pageler,  Seattle City Councilmember

Heather Pool,  Graduate Student,  University of Washington and former NEW Leadership staff member

Diane Powers,  Executive Director,  Nativity House

Teresa Purcell,  Founder,  Purcell Public Affairs

Allison Rank, Graduate Student,  University of Washington,   Former NEW Leadership Puget Sound Staff Assistant

Roberta Riley,  Attorney,  Planned Parenthood of Western Washington

Andrea Riniker,  Executive Director,  Port of Tacoma

Denise Rollin,  Human Resources Director,  University of Washington Bothell

Kristin Rowe-Finkbeiner,  Executive Director,  MomsRising

Rita Ryder,  Executive Director,  YWCA

Majken Ryherd,  Lobbyist

Therese Quinn,  Trainer,  Study Circles

Amy Schlachtenhaufen,  Assistant Director,  The Wilderness Society

Deborah Senn,  Washington State Insurance Commissioner

Jennifer Smolen,  Alumna;  Owner,  Monumental Events

Washington Supreme Court Justice Debra StephensWashington State Supreme Court

Lisa Stone,  Executive Director,  Northwest Women’s Law Center

Jamila Thomas-Roberts,  Chief of Staff,  House Democratic Caucus

Norma Timbang,  Social Justice Consultant,  New Transitions Consulting

Velma Veloria,  Activist,  Former State Representative

Kristi Waite,  Brand and Social Strategist

Shirley Winsley,  President Pro Tempore of the Senate

Tacoma City Councilwoman Victoria Woodard,  Tacoma City Council

Barbara Yasui,  Trainer,  Study Circles

Cynthia Zehnder,  Chief Clerk,  Washington State House of Representatives

* Listed titles and affiliations were current for participating leaders at the time of the institute with which they were affiliated. However,  this information may not reflect current positions.