Board of Directors


  • 15 Voting Members representing:
    • Administration from each of the participating universities in all 12 states under the “Memorandum of Understanding”
    • Industry Advisory Council (IAC)
    • Directors of Western Cooperative Extension
    • Directors of Western Experiment Stations
  • 3 Non-voting members representing:
    • Washington State University
    • Research Subcommittee
    • Extension Subcommittee

Roles & Responsibilities

  • Establish:
    • Policy for overall administration and management of the WRAC program.
    • Overall regional aquaculture research and extension goals and allocation of fiscal resources to ensure strong programs in both research and extension.
    • Priorities for regional aquaculture research and extension activities based on inputs from the Technical Committee and Industry Advisory Council.
  • Review and approval of annual plans of work and accomplishment reports.
  • Serve as mid-term reviewer of multi-year projects, as needed.
  • Determine final selection of proposals for funding by WRAC.

Board of Directors

updated 4/5/2017
Represent Name Contact Information
AK Gary Freitag University of Alaska Fairbanks
Alaska Sea Grant Marine Advisory Program
Robertson/Hamilton Technical Center
600 Stedman St
Ketchikan, AK 99901
PH: 907-228-4551
Email: gary.freitag@alaska.edu
AZ Dr. Kevin Fitzsimmons University of Arizona
Environmental Research Laboratory
2601 E Airport Dr
Tucson, AZ 85706-6985
PH: 520-626-3324
Email: Kevfitz@ag.arizona.edu
CA Dr. Fred S. Conte University of California, Davis
Dept of Animal Science
1 Shields Ave
Davis, CA 95616-8521
PH: 530-752-7689
Email: fsconte@ucdavis.edu
CO Dr. Chris Myrick Colorado State University
Department of Fish & Wildlife Biology
Fort Collins, CO 80523-1474
PH: 970-491-5657
Email: chris.myrick@colostate.edu
ID Dr. Ronald Hardy, Chair University of Idaho
Hagerman Fish Culture Experiment Station
3059F National Fish Hatchery Rd
Twin Falls, ID 83332
PH: 208-837-9096
Email: rhardy@uidaho.edu
NM Dr. Rossana Sallenave New Mexico State University
Extension Animal Sciences & Natural Resources
PO Box 30003 MSC 3AE
Las Cruces, NM 88003
PH: 505-646-6093
Email: rsallena@nmsu.edu
OR Dr. Jerri Bartholomew Oregon State University
Department of Microbiology
524 Nash Hall
Corvallis, OR 97331
PH: 541-737-1856
Email: jerri.bartholomew@oregonstate.edu
UT Dr. Eric Wagner Fisheries Experiment Station
1465 W 200 North
Logan, UT 84321
PH: 435-752-1066, x 202
Email: ericwagner@utah.gov
WA Dr. Walt Dickhoff University of Washington
School of Aquatic & Fishery Sciences
1122 NE Boat St
Seattle, WA 98295
PH: 206-860-3234
Email: walton.w.dickhoff@noaa.gov
IAC Chair Jeremy Liley Liley Fisheries, Inc.
251 Opal Ct.
Windsor, CO 80550
PH: 303-449-2303
Email: jeremy@lileyfisheries.com
Western Extension Directors Association Dr. Jon Boren New Mexico State University
Dean and Director Cooperative Extension Service
PO Box 3003 MSC EAE
Las Cruces, NM 88003
PH: 505-646-1164
Email: jboren@nmsu.edu
Western Association of Agriculture Experiment Station Directors Dr. Dan Edge Oregon State University
Associate Dean, College of Agricultural Sciences
126 Strand Agricultural Hall
Corvallis, OR 97331-2212
PH: 541-737-2910
Email: Daniel.Edge@oregonstate.edu
Non-Voting WSU TBD  
Non-Voting Extension Sub-Committee Chair Gary Fornshell University of Idaho
Twin Falls County Extension
630 Addison Avenue West, Suite 1600
Twin Falls, ID 83301
PH: 208-735-44419
Email: gafornsh@uidaho.edu
Non-Voting Research
Sub-Committee Chair
Dr. Matt Powell University of Idaho
Aquaculture Research Institute
3059F National Fish Hatchery Rd. Hagerman, ID 83332
PH: 208-837-9096, x 1102
Email: mpowell@uidaho.edu

Top  Organization