Developed to take advantage of the best aquaculture science, educational skills, and facilities within a twelve-state area, WRAC works to enhance viable and profitable commercial aquaculture production in the U.S. for the benefit of producers, consumers, and the American economy.  

The twelve western states encompassed by WRAC are:

Alaska Idaho Oregon
Arizona Montana Utah
California Nevada Washington
Colorado New Mexico Wyoming

Participating universities from these states operate under a Memorandum of Understanding, ensuring "joint commitment and co-equal status" throughout the region.