Home

WRAC Technical Committee

The TC is composed of two subcommittees:

  1. Research
  2. Extension

Representation

  • Each subcommittee has a maximum of 12 members; when possible, each subcommittee should have one representative from each state representing a diversity of disciplines within the aquaculture arena.

Roles & Responsibilities

  • Recommend to the Board, jointly with the IAC, research and outreach needs and priorities.
  • Organize and develop a comprehensive research program for WRAC. A regional Work Group of scientists plans, develops, and conducts the research in conjunction with a Project Monitor appointed by the Board. The Aquaculture Research Funds are allocated each year to participants in WRAC projects as recommended jointly by the Technical Committee and the Industry Advisory Council, and subsequently approved by the Board of Directors and USDA/CSREES.
  • Recommend actions to the Board regarding new and continuing projects, project modifications, and terminations.

Research Subcommittee Contacts

(Terms end June 30 of year in parentheses.)

RESEARCH SUBCOMMITTEE Members

Dr. Frederic Barrows (2017)
Bozeman Fish Technology Center USDA-ARS
(Emeritus status, 2016)
4050 Bridger Canyon Rd.
Bozeman, MT 59715
Cell: 406/570-1825
ftbarrows@gmail.com
Dr. Jim Bowker (2018)
US Fish & Wildlife Services
4050 Bridger Canyon Rd
Bozeman, MT 49715
Phone: 406/994-9910
Fax: 406/582-0242
jim-bowker@fws.gov
Dr. Kenneth Cain (2017)
University of Idaho
Dept of Fish & Wildlife Resources
Moscow, ID 83844-1136
Phone: 208/885-7608
Fax: 208/885-9080
kcain@uidaho.edu
Mark Drawbridge, M.S. (2019)
Hubbs-Seaworld Research Inst.
2595 Ingraham Street
San Diego, CA 92109
Phone: 619/226-3943
Fax: 619/226-3944
mdrawbridge@hswri.org
Dr. Jackson Gross (2018)
Smith-Root, Inc., Conservation and Aquatic Nuisance Species Division
14014 NE Salmon Creek Avenue
Vancouver, WA 98686
Phone: 360-573-0202, ext. 124
jgross@smith-root.com
Dr. Robert McGorrin (2018)
Oregon State University
Dept of Food Sci ence & Tech.
Corvallis, OR 97331
Phone: 541/737-8737
Fax: 541/737-1877
robert.mcgorrin@oregonstate.edu
Dr. James Nagler (2018)
Associate Director of Center for Reproductive Biology
University of Idaho
Moscow, ID 83844-3051
Phone: 208/885-4382
jamesn@uidaho.edu
Dr. Kenneth Overturf (2019)
Hagerman Fish Culture E.S.
3059F Nat'l Fish Hatchery Rd
Hagerman, ID 83332
Phone: 208/837-9096
Fax: 208/837-6047
Ken.Overturf@ars.usda.gov
Dr. Madison Powell - Chair (2017)
University of Idaho
Aquaculture Research institute
3059F National Fish Hatchery Road
Hagerman, ID 83332
PH: 208-837-9096, x 1102
mpowell@uidaho.edu
Dr. Barbara Rasco (2017)
Washington State University
Food Science, Box 646376
Pullman, WA 99164
Phone: 509/335-1858
Fax: 509/335-4815
rasco@wsu.edu
Dr. Wendy Sealey (2019)
U.S. Fish & Wildlife Service
Bozeman Fish Technology Center
4050 Bridger Canyon Drive
Bozeman, MT 59715
PH: 406/994-9908
FAX: 406/586-5942
Wendy_Sealy@fws.gov
Dr. Gil Sylvia (2018)
Oregon State University
Coastal Oregon Marine Experiment Station/Hatfield Marine Science Center
2030 Marine Sciences Drive
Newport, OR 97365
PH: 541-867-0284
FAX: 541-867-03452
gil.sylvia@oregonstate.edu

Work Group Chairs

Joth Davis
Puget sound Restoration Foundation
590 Madison Ave. N.
Bainbridge Island, WA 98110
PH: 206-780-6947
Fax: 206-855-820
jothpdavis@gmail.com
Dr. Carole Engle
Engle-Stone Aquatic$ LLC
1225 Cottonwood Road
Strasberg, VA 22657
PH: 870-489-4259
cengle8523@gmail.com
Dr. Chris Myrick
Colorado State University
Dept of Fishery & Wildlife Biology
Fort Collins, CO 80523-1474
Phone: 970/491-5657
Fax: 970/491-5091
chris.myrick@colostate.edu
Dr. Ben Renquist
University of Arizona
Department of Animal Sciences
205 Shantz Bldg.
Tucson, AZ 85721
Phone: 520-626-5793
bjrenquist@email.arizona.edu
Dr. Andrea Schreier
University of California Davis
Department of Animal Science
One Shields Avenue
Davis, CA 95616
PH: 530-752-0664
amdrauch@ucdavis.edu
Kevin Stuart, M.S.
Hubbs-Seaworld Reserach Institute
2595 Ingraham Street
San Diego, CA92109
PH: 619-226-3870
FAX: 619-226-3944
kstuart@hswri.org
Dr. George Waldbusser
Oregon State University College of Earth, Ocean and Atmosphere
1-4 COAS Admin Building
Corvallis, OR 97331
PH: 541-737-8964
FAX: 541-737-2064
waldbuss@oregonstate.edu

Project Monitors

 
Dr. Frederic Barrows
Bozeman Fish Technology Center USDA-ARS
(Emeritus status, 2016)
4050 Bridger Canyon Rd.
Bozeman, MT 59715
Cell: 406/570-1825
ftbarrows@gmail.com
Dr. Kenneth Cain
University of Idaho
Dept of Fish & Wildlife Resources
Moscow, ID 83844-1136
Phone: 208/885-7608
kcain@uidaho.edu
Dr. Kevin Fitzsimmons
University of Arizona, Director, Office of International Agricultural Programs
Forbes Building, Room 306
1140 E. South Campus Drive
Tucson, AZ 85721-0036
PH: 520-621-7687
kevfitz@ag.arizona.edu
Gary Freitag
University of Alaska, Fairbanks
Marine Advisory Program
600 Stedman St.
Ketchikan, AK 99901
PH: 907-228-4551
gary.freitag@alaska.edu
Dr. Gunnar Knapp
University of Alaska, Anchorage
Economics
3211 Providence Drive
Anchorage, AK 99508
PH: 907-786-7717
gunnar.knapp@uaa.alaska.edu
Dr. JIm Nagler
University of Idaho
Dept. of Biological Sciences & Reproductive Biology
Moscow, ID 83844-3051
PH: 208-837-9096, x 1102
jamesn@uidaho.edu
Dr. Madison Powell
University of Idaho
Aquaculture Research institute
3059F National Fish Hatchery Road
Hagerman, ID 83332
PH: 208-837-9096, x 1102
mpowell@uidaho.edu
 
 
 

Extension Subcommittee Contacts

(Terms end June 30 of year in parentheses.)

AK: Dr. Quentin Fong (2018)
Alaska Sea Grant Marine Advisory Program University of Alaska Fairbanks
School of Fisheries and Ocean Sciences
118 Trident Way
Kodiak, AK 99615
PH: 907-486-1516
FAX: 907-486-1540
qsfong@alaska.edu
AZ: Dr. Kevin Fitzsimmons (2018)
University of Arizona
Environmental Research Lab
2601 E. Airport Drive
Tucson, AZ 85706-6985
PH: 520/626-3324
FAX: 520/573-0852
kevfitz@ag.arizona.edu
CA: Dr. Paul Olin (2017)
California Sea Grant Extension Program
133 Aviation Blvd, #109
Santa Rosa, CA 95403
PH: 707-565-3449
FAX: 707-565-2623
polin@ucsd.edu
ID: Gary Fornshell - Chair (2018)
University of Idaho
Twin Falls County Extension
246 3rd Avenue East
Twin Falls, ID 83301
PH: 208/735-4419
FAX: 208/733-9645
gafornsh@uidaho.edu
NM: Dr. Rossana Sallenave (2017)
New Mexico State University
Extension Animal Sciences and Natural Resources
Box 30003, MSC 3AE
Las Cruces, NM 88003-8003
PH: 505/646-6093
rsallena@nmsu.edu
OR: Dr. William Hanshumaker (2017)
Oregon State University
Hatfield Marine Science Center
2030 Marine Science Dr.
Newport, OR 97365
PH:  541-867-0167
bill.hanshumaker@oregonstate.edu
UT: Dr. Chris Luecke (2017)
Dean, Quinney College of Natural Resources
Utah State University
5200 Old Main Hill
Logan, UT 84322-5200
PH: 435-797-2452
chris.luecke@usu.edu
WA: Dr. Kim Patten (2019)
Research & Extension Unit, Long Beach Director Pacific County & Extension Professor
Washington State University
2907Pioneer Road
Long Beach, WA 98631
PH/Fax: 360-642-2031
pattenk@wsu.edu

WY:

To Be Appointed: Alaska, Colorado, Montana, Nevada, Utah, Wyoming

Top  Organization