Home

WRAC Technical Committee

The TC is composed of two subcommittees:

  1. Research
  2. Extension

Representation

  • Each subcommittee has a maximum of 12 members; when possible, each subcommittee should have one representative from each state representing a diversity of disciplines within the aquaculture arena.

Roles & Responsibilities

  • Recommend to the Board, jointly with the IAC, research and outreach needs and priorities.
  • Organize and develop a comprehensive research program for WRAC. A regional Work Group of scientists plans, develops, and conducts the research in conjunction with a Project Monitor appointed by the Board. The Aquaculture Research Funds are allocated each year to participants in WRAC projects as recommended jointly by the Technical Committee and the Industry Advisory Council, and subsequently approved by the Board of Directors and USDA/CSREES.
  • Recommend actions to the Board regarding new and continuing projects, project modifications, and terminations.

Research Subcommittee Contacts

(Terms end June 30 of year in parentheses.)

Members

Dr. Frederic Barrows (2017)
USDA/ARS
Hagerman Fish CES
3059F Nat'l Fish Hatchery Rd
Hagerman, ID 83332
Phone: 208/837-9096
Fax: 208/837-6047
Rick.Barrows@ars.usda.gov
Dr. Jim Bowker (2015)
US Fish & Wildlife Services
4050 Bridger Canyon Rd
Bozeman, MT 49715
Phone: 406/994-9910
Fax: 406/582-0242
jim-bowker@fws.gov
Dr. Kenneth Cain (2017)
University of Idaho
Dept of Fish & Wildlife Resources
Moscow, ID 83844-1136
Phone: 208/885-7608
Fax: 208/885-9080
kcain@uidaho.edu
Mark Drawbridge (2016)
Hubbs-Seaworld Research Inst.
2595 Ingraham Street
San Diego, CA 92109
Phone: 619/226-3943
Fax: 619/226-3944
mdrawbridge@hswri.org
Dr. Robert McGorrin (2015)
Oregon State University
Dept of Food Sci ence & Tech.
Corvallis, OR 97331
Phone: 541/737-8737
Fax: 541/737-1877
robert.mcgorrin@oregonstate.edu
Dr. Chris Myrick (2015) - CHAIR
Dept of Fishery & Wildlife Biology
Colorado State University
Fort Collins, CO 80523-1474
Phone: 970/491-5657
Fax: 970/491-5091
chris.myrick@colostate.edu
Dr. James Nagler (2015)
Associate Director of Center for Reproductive Biology
University of Idaho
Moscow, ID 83844-3051
Phone: 208/885-4382
jamesn@uidaho.edu
Dr. Kenneth Overturf (2016)
Hagerman Fish Culture E.S.
3059F Nat'l Fish Hatchery Rd
Hagerman, ID 83332
Phone: 208/837-9096
Fax: 208/837-6047
Ken.Overturf@ars.usda.gov
Dr. Madison Powell (2017)
Aquaculture Research institute
University of Idaho
3059F National Fish Hatchery Road
Hagerman, ID 83332
PH: 208-837-9096, x 1102
mpowell@uidaho.edu
Dr. Barbara Rasco (2017)
Washington State University
Food Science, Box 646376
Pullman, WA 99164
Phone: 509/335-1858
Fax: 509/335-4815
rasco@wsu.edu
Dr. Wendy Sealey (2016)
U.S. Fish & Wildlife Service
Bozeman Fish Technology Center
4050 Bridger Canyon Drive
Bozeman, MT 59715
PH: 406/994-9908
FAX: 406/586-5942
Wendy_Sealy@fws.gov

Work Group Chairs

Dr. Serge Doroshov (ex-off)
University of CA-Davis
One Shields Ave.
Department of Animal Sciences
Davis, CA 95616
Phone: 530/752-7603
sidoroshov@ucdavis.edu
Dr. Wendy Sealey (ex-off)
U.S. Fish & Wildlife Service
Bozeman Fish Technology Center
4050 Bridger Canyon Drive
Bozeman, MT 59715
PH: 406/994-9908
FAX: 406/586-5942
Wendy_Sealy@fws.gov
Dr. Mark Drawbridge
Hubbs-Seaworld Research Institute
2595 Ingraham Street
San Diego, CA 92109
PH: 619/226-3943
Fax: 619/226-3944
Mdrawbridge@hswri.org

Project monitors

Dr. James Nagler
Associate Director of Center for Reproductive Biology
University of Idaho
Moscow, ID 83844-3051
Phone: 208/885-4382
jamesn@uidaho.edu
Jason Mann
EWOS Canada
7721 132nd Street
Surry, British Columbia, Canada V3W 4MB
Phone: 604-591-6388
jason.mann@ewos.com
Dr. Frederic Barrows
USDA/ARS
Hagerman Fish CES
3059F Nat'l Fish Hatchery Rd
Hagerman, ID 83332
Phone: 208/837-9096
Fax: 208/837-6047
Rick.Barrows@ars.usda.gov
Dr. Kenneth Cain
University of Idaho
Dept of Fish & Wildlife Resources
Moscow, ID 83844-1136
Phone: 208/885-7608
Fax: 208/885-9080
kcain@uidaho.edu
Dr. Fred S. Conte
University of California, Davis
Dept of Animal Science
1 Shields Ave
Davis, CA 95616-8521
PH: 530-752-7689
fsconte@ucdavis.edu

Extension Subcommittee Contacts

(Terms end June 30 of year in parentheses.)

AK: Dr. Gary Freitag (2017)
Univ. of Alaska - Fairbanks
Alaska Sea Grant Marine Advisory Program
Robertson/Hamilton Technical Center
600 Stedman St
Ketchikan, AK 99901
PH: 907/225-3895
gary.freitag@alaska.edu
AZ: Dr. Kevin Fitzsimmons (2015)
University of Arizona
Environmental Research Lab
2601 E. Airport Drive
Tucson, AZ 85706-6985
PH: 520/626-3324
FAX: 520/573-0852
kevfitz@ag.arizona.edu
CA: Dr. Paul Olin (2017)
California Sea Grant Extension Program
133 Aviation Blvd, #109
Santa Rosa, CA 95403
PH: 707-565-3449
FAX: 707-565-2623
polin@ucsd.edu
ID: Gary Fornshell (2015) (Chair)
University of Idaho
Twin Falls County Extension
246 3rd Avenue East
Twin Falls, ID 83301
PH: 208/735-4419
FAX: 208/733-9645
gafornsh@uidaho.edu
NM: Dr. Rossana Sallenave (2017)
New Mexico State University
Extension Animal Sciences and Natural Resources
Box 30003, MSC 3AE
Las Cruces, NM 88003-8003
PH: 505/646-6093
rsallena@nmsu.edu
OR: Dave Landkamer (2016)
Lincoln County Extension
29 SE 2nd Street
Newport, OR 97365
PH:  541/574-6537 x24
David.landkamer@oregonstate.edu
 
UT: Dr. Chris Leucke (2017)
Dean, Quinney College of Natural Resources
Utah State University
5200 Old Main Hill
Logan, UT 84322-5200
PH: 435-797-2452
chris.luecke@usu.edu
WA: Steve Harbell (2017)
WSU - Cooperative Extension
P.O. Box 88
1216 Robert Bush Drive
South Bend, WA 98586
PH: 360/875-9331, x633
FAX: 360/875-9304
sharbell@u.washington.edu
WY: TBD

To Be Appointed: Colorado, Montana, Nevada, Utah, Wyoming

Top  Organization