Department Requirements
Feedback & Evaluations
Faculty Visitors
Program Administration
Contacts & Site Descriptions
WRITE Site Set-up
& Administration
Mission & History

UWSOM Program Information and Links

Colleges Mentor Program Description and Links

For more information about the Colleges of the UWSOM, link to http://www.uwmedicine.org/education/md-program/the-college

There are six colleges at the UWSOM: Big Sky College, Columbia River College, Denali College, Rainier College, Snake River College, Wind River College. The UWSOM Colleges have three primary goals:

  • To oversee a four-year integrated curriculum of clinical skills and professionalism
  • To teach the Introduction to Clinical Medicine II (ICM II) course in the second year
  • To provide a consistent faculty mentor to each student throughout her/his medical school career


Within each of the Colleges there are six faculty,, one of whom serves as the head of the College. Students are randomly assigned upon matriculation to one of the five Colleges, and specifically to one faculty mentor within that College. Each College mentor will be assigned six students and will work with them throughout their medical school career. Each College will have a total of 144-150 students.

Each College has a special link to its state and will serve as the liaison with both the first year and the clinical sites of that state. The students from a given first-year site are assigned throughout the five Colleges. We hope eventually, with students’ help, to prepare material about each state, its geology and natural resources, its history, its people, its cultures, and the history of its medical communities. We hope that students from each state will be interested in contributing to this effort regardless of which College they are assigned to. We see these histories as a part of our entire school, and envision the Colleges as being the custodians and links to their states.


One of the main responsibilities of the Colleges is to oversee a four-year integrated curriculum of clinical skills and professionalism. There are five areas of clinical skills with developmental benchmarks identified for each year:

  • Communication skills, including taking a patient history
  • Clinical reasoning and interpretation skills
  • Diagnostic and physical exam skills
  • Professionalism and ethics
  • Use of informatics

Although they are described uniquely, there is considerable overlap between the five areas. The developmental benchmarks for each year in each area included in this orientation material were outlined by a working group during the curriculum review process and are in general form. As students move through medical school training, they will be provided with more specific, detailed benchmarks in the various areas. We are continually reviewing these benchmarks to refine and deepen them and enhance their usefulness in helping students identify appropriate learning goals for each academic quarter or clerkship.

Content retrieved from UWSOM Colleges Web site

Web site and all contents © Copyright University of Washington 2008, All rights reserved.