Announcing the Recipients of the 2020 New Investigator Awards

The University of Washington/Fred Hutch Center for AIDS Research (CFAR) is pleased to announce the 2020 New Investigator Award recipients.  The purpose of this award program is to encourage junior investigators (at a senior stage of training or recently independent) to conduct independent research, acquire preliminary data to use for exogenous grant submissions, publish, receive mentorship, and write one or more grants to obtain funding to continue their HIV research careers. Recipients are awarded $45,000/year (direct costs) for non-interdisciplinary projects or up to $55,000/year (direct costs) for interdisciplinary projects. 

2020 CFAR New Investigator Award Recipients

Celso Inguane, PhD, MPH, MA
Postdoctoral Scholar, Global Health,
University of Washington
Evidence-based decision-making in the HIV cascade continuum of care in Maputo, Mozambique
Mentors: James Pfeiffer, University of Washington; Kenneth Sherr, University of Washington

Ayokunle Olanrewaju, PhD, MSc
Postdoctoral Fellow, Mechanical Engineering, University of Washington
A rapid enzymatic assay for measurement of adherence to pre-exposure prophylaxis
Mentors: Paul Drain, University of Washington; Jonathan Posner, University of Washington

Kelli O’Laughlin, MD, MPH, FACEP
Assistant Professor, Emergency Medicine, University of Washington
Assisted partner notification for HIV in refugee settlements in West Nile Uganda: assessing the reach, effectiveness, adoption, implementation, and maintenance using the RE-AIM framework
Mentors: Connie Celum, University of Washington; Andrew Kambugu, Infectious Diseases Institute/Makerere University; Bryan Weiner, University of Washington

Jennifer Ross, MD, MPH
Acting Assistant Professor, Global Health and Medicine, University of Washington
Advancing joint HIV-TB prevention in households in high-burden countries
Mentor: Ruanne Barnabas, University of Washington

Pavitra Roychoudhury, PhD, MSc
Postdoctoral Research Fellow, Fred Hutchinson Cancer Research Center
Acting Instructor, Laboratory Medicine, University of Washington
Using herpesvirus coinfection to elucidate the mechanisms of HIV reservoir persistence
Mentors: Keith Jerome, University of Washington; Sulggi Lee, University of California, San Francisco

Michelle Sabo, MD, PhD
Acting Instructor/Senior Fellow, Medicine, University of Washington
Bacterial Vaginosis, Cervical Immune Cells and HIV Susceptibility
Mentors: R. Scott McClelland, University of Washington; Javeed Shah, University of Washington; Michael Gale, University of Washington

Monisha Sharma, PhD, ScM
Acting Assistant Professor, Global Health, University of Washington
Designing a combination intervention strategy to improve pediatric viral suppression in Kenya
Mentors: Grace John-Stewart, University of Washington

Jennifer Velloza, PhD, MPH
Senior Fellow, Global Health, University of Washington
Developing a novel tablet PrEP adherence intervention for young women in South Africa
Mentors: Connie Celum, University of Washington; Sinead Delany-Moretlwe, Witswatersrand Reproductive Health & HIV Institute

Please join us in congratulating our awardees!