# **Previous Poll Visiting Scholars**

#### 1992

Dr. Heinz-Gunter Thiele Professor and Chairman Department of Immunology University of Hamburg, Germany

#### 1993

Donald F. Steiner, MD A.N. Pritzker Distinguished Service Professor of Biochemistry Molecular Biology and Medicine University of Chicago

### 1994

Leonard C. Harrison, MD Professor of Medicine, University of Melbourne Director, Burnet Research Unit Royal Melbourne Hospital, Victoria, Australia

#### 1995

Denis L. Faustman, MD, PhD Associate Professor of Internal Medicine Harvard Medical School Director, Immunobiology Laboratories Massachusetts General Hospital

### 1996

Mladen Vranic, MD, DSc, FRCP(C)
Professor and Chairman, Department of Physiology
Professor of Medicine, University of Toronto

### 1997

Jørn Nerup, MD, DMSc Professor University of Copenhagen, Denmark Chief Physician Steno Diabetes Center

# 1998

Aldo A. Rossini, MD Professor and Vice Chairman Department of Medicine University of Massachusetts Medical Center

## 1999

Daniel Pipeleers, MD, PhD Professor and Director Department of Metabolism and Endocrinology Vrije Universiteit Brussels, Belgium

### 2000

Michael Brownlee MD Director, JDRF International Center for Diabetic Complications Research Department of Medicine and Pathology Albert Einstein College of Medicine

### 2001

Marc Donath, MD Professor of Medicine Division of Endocrinology and Diabetes Zurich University, Switzerland

### 2002

Anne Cooke, PhD University of Cambridge Cambridge, UK

# 2003

Philippe Froguel, MD, PhD Associate Professor in Genetics and Endocrinology University of Lille Lille, France

# 2004

Diane Mathis, PhD Head, Section on Immunology & Immunogentics Joslin Diabetes Center Harvard Medical School

### 2005

Leif Group, MD, PhD Professor of Endocrinology Lund University Malmo, Sweden

## 2006

Abner Notkins, MD Experimental Medicine Section Chief OIIB National Institutes of Health/NIDCR

#### 2007

Ali Naji, MD, PhD Professor of Surgery University of PA Medical Center

### 2008

Edwin Gale, MD Professor of Diabetic Medicine Head, Division of Medicine Southmead Hospital Bristol, U.K.

### 2009

Irun Cohen, MD Professor of Immunology The Weizmann Institute of Science Rehovot, Israel

#### 2010

Robert S. Sherwin, MD C.N.H Long Professor of Medicine Chief, Section of Endocrinology, Yale University Director, Yale Center for Clinical Investigation

#### 2011

Olli Simell, MD, PhD Professor and Chairman of Pediatrics University of Turku, Finland Chief Physician, Childrens Clinic Turku University Hospital

# 2012

Matthias von Herrath, MD Professor and Director Type 1 Diabetes Center La Jolla Institute for Allergy and Immunology

### 2013

Mark Peakman, MBBS, PhD, FRCPath. Professor of Clinical Immunology King's College London, UK

### 2014

Dario Vignali, PhD Vice Chair, Immunology St. Jude Children's Research Hospital

# 2015

Kevan Herold, MD Professor of Immunobiology and of Medicine Yale University

## 2016

Åke Lernmark, MD, PhD Professor of Experimental Diabetes Lund University Lund, Sweden

# 2017

Bart Roep, MD, PhD
Professor and Founding Chair
Department of Diabetes Immunology, Diabetes & Metabolism
Research Institute
Beckman Research Institute at the City of Hope

# 2018

Martin J. Hessner, PhD Professor, Department of Pediatrics Director, the Max McGee Research Center for Juvenile Diabetes The Medical College of Wisconsin

# 2019

Alberto Pugliese, MD
The J. Enloe and Eugenia J. Dodson Chair in Diabetes
Research
Professor of Medicine, Division of Diabetes Endocrinology and
Metabolism
Professor of Microbiology and Immunology
Deputy Director for Immune Tolerance Research
Head, Immunogenetics Program
Diabetes Research Institute
University of Miami

# 2021

Chantal Matthieu, MD, PhD Professor of Medicine Program Director of Biomedical Sciences Katholieke Universiteit Leuven

# 2022

Carmella Evans-Molina, PhD, MS, MD Director, Indiana Diabetes Research Center J.O. Ritchey Professor of Medicine

# 2023

Megan Levings, PhD Professor, University of British Columbia