Department of English Faculty
Alphabetical Listing

 

Chair: Gary Handwerk

 


A  B C  D  E F  G  H I  J  K L  M  N O  P  Q R  S  T U  V  W X  Y  Z

Other Department Faculty Lists:


Note: Year in parentheses after name is first year on the Department of English faculty.


A

Abrams, Robert (1979); Associate Professor; PhD, 1973, Indiana University; American literature. e-mail: rabrams@u.washington.edu

Alexander, Edward (1962); (Professor Emeritus). PhD, 1963, University of Minnesota; romantic and Victorian literature. e-mail: eaengl@u.washington.edu

Allen, Carolyn  (1972); Professor. PhD, 1972, University of Minnesota; twentieth-century literature, women writers, contemporary critical theory. e-mail: callen@u.washington.edu



B

Bawarshi, Anis (1999); Associate Professor.  PhD 1999, Kansas; rhetoric and composition. e-mail: bawarshi@u.washington.edu

Bierds, Linda L. (1981); Professor. MA,1971, University of Washington; poetry writing; contemporary American poetry. e-mail: lbierds@u.washington.edu

Blake, Kathleen (1971); (Professor Emerita). PhD, 1971, University of California (San Diego); Victorian literature, children's literature, women's studies. e-mail: kblake@u.washington.edu

Blau, Herbert (2000); Professor. PhD, 1954, Stanford. Drama and performance; modern and post-modern literature; literary and cultural theory; backgrounds of modernism and traditions of the avant-garde.  e-mail: hblau@u.washington.edu

Bosworth, David L. (1984); Associate Professor.  BA, 1969, Brown University fiction writing, modern fiction and poetry, American Puritans. e-mail: davidbos@u.washington.edu

Brenner, Gerald J. (1966); (Associate Professor Emeritus) PhD, 1969, University of New Mexico; American literature, fiction writing. e-mail: brenner@u.washington.edu

Brown, Marshall J. (1988); Professor. PhD,1972, Yale University eighteenth-and nineteenth-century literature, literary theory, music and literature. e-mail: mbrown@u.washington.edu

Butwin, Joseph M. (1978);  Associate Professor. PhD, 1971, Harvard University; Victorian literature. e-mail: joeyb@u.washington.edu

Burgett, Bruce, Associate Professor, Interdisciplinary Arts & Sciences, UW Bothell Campus.  Ph.D. 1993, University of California-Berkeley;  American studies, gender and queer studies, interdisciplinarity, transnationalism, political theory and economy, cultural studies, critical race studies, sentimentalism.  e-mail: burgett@u.washington.edu

Burstein, Jessica (1998); Assistant Professor. PhD 1998, University of Chicago; Modern British and American literature and poetry, late 19th-century British literature. e-mail: jb2@u.washington.edu



C

Cherniavsky, Eva (2005); Professor. PhD 1990, University of California (Berkeley); 18th-, 19th-, and 20th-century U.S. literatures; American studies, post-colonial studies; feminist theory; critical theories of race and ethnicity. e-mail: ec22@u.washington.edu

Chrisman, Laura (2005); Professor. PhD 1992, University of Oxford; postcolonial studies; African studies; black transnational and diaspora studies; late 19thc British imperial literature; South African literature; black British literature. e-mail: lhc3@u.washington.edu

Coldewey, John C. (1972); (Professor Emeritus). PhD, 1972, University of Colorado (Boulder); Renaissance literature, medieval drama. Personal homepage. e-mail: jcjc@u.washington.edu

Cummings, Katherine (1985); Associate Professor. PhD, 1985, University of Wisconsin; feminist, psychoanalytical, and literary theory, modern and contemporary literature. e-mail: ckate@u.washington.edu



D, E

Dillon, George L. (1986); Professor.  PhD 1969 University of California (Berkeley); rhetoric, composition. Personal homepage. e-mail: dillon@u.washington.edu

Dunn, Richard J. (1967); (Professor Emeritus). PhD, 1964, Western Reserve University; Victorian literature, English novel. e-mail: dickd@u.washington.edu



F

Feld, Andrew (2006); Assistant Professor. MFA 1992, University of Massachusetts; poetry writing. e-mail: aefeld@u.washington.edu

Foster, Thomas (2005); Professor; PhD 1990, University of Wisconsin, Madison; contemporary American literature and popular culture; technoculture studies and posthumanism, especially issues of gender, sexuality, race, and citizenship; British and American modernism (fiction and poetry). e-mail: tfoster@u.washington.edu

Fowler, David C. (1952); (Professor Emeritus); PhD,1949, University of Chicago; medieval literature, comparative religion.

Frey, Charles Hubbard (1976); (Professor Emeritus);  PhD,1971, Yale University; Renaissance literature, Shakespeare. e-mail: cfrey@u.washington.edu



G

George, E. Laurie (1991); Senior Lecturer.  PhD, 1984, University of Oregon; expository/computer-aided writing, American literature, feminist linguistics, pedagogy. e-mail:elgeorge@u.washington.edu

Gillis-Bridges, Kimberlee (1999); Senior Lecturer. PhD, 1999, Claremont Graduate University; interdisciplinary writing; film studies & cinema, contemporary U.S. literature, technology-based pedagogy. Personal homepage. e-mail: kgb@u.washington.edu

Graham, Joan Adelle (1974); Senior Lecturer. MA, 1972, University of Washington; expository and interdisciplinary writing. e-mail: jbgraham@u.washington.edu

Griffith, John W. (1968); Associate Professor. PhD, 1969, University of Oregon; American literature. e-mail: jgriff@u.washington.edu

Griffith, Malcolm A. (1966); (Assistant Professor Emeritus). PhD 1966 Ohio State University; twentieth-century literature, modern criticism, American literature. e-mail: malcolmg@u.washington.edu

Guerra, Juan C. (1990); Associate Professor. PhD, 1990, University of Illinois; rhetoric and composition. e-mail: jguerra@u.washington.edu



H

Handwerk, Gary J. (1984); Professor.  PhD, 1984, Brown University; literary theory, English and Irish nineteenth and twentieth-century narrative. e-mail:handwerk@u.washington.edu

Harkins, Gillian (2002); Assistant Professor. PhD 2002, University of California, Berkeley; modern and contemporary American literature, female novelists, autobiography, trauma, psychoanalysis, narrative theory, feminist and queer theory, citizenship. e-mail: gharkins@u.washington.edu

Heuving, Jeanne. Associate Professor, Interdisciplinary Arts & Sciences, UW Bothell Campus. Ph.D. 1988, University of Washington.  Twentieth century poetry and poetics; avant garde texts; modernism and postmodernism;  cultural studies; women writers; critical theory and feminist theory; American literature. e-mail: jheuving@u.washington.edu

Hudson, Lois Phillips (1969); (Associate Professor Emerita); LittD, 1965, North Dakota State University; fiction writing.



I, J

Ibrahim, Habiba (2006); Assistant Professor, PhD 2005, SUNY Albany; African American literature and culture. e-mail: hibrahim@u.washington.edu

Jeffords, Susan E. (1985); Professor.  PhD, 1981, University of Pennsylvania; feminist theory, American popular culture, and the representation of Vietnam. e-mail: jeffords@u.washington.edu

Johnson, Charles R. (1976); (Professor Emeritus).  PhD, Philosophy, 1988, State University of New York at Stony Brook; fiction writing. Charles Johnson Society webpage. e-mail: chasjohn@u.washington.edu



K

Kaplan, Sydney J. (1971); Professor.  PhD, 1971, University of California (Los Angeles); twentieth-century literature, women writers, feminist criticism. e-mail: sydneyk@u.washington.edu

Kaup, Monika.  (2001); Associate Professor. PhD 1991, Ruhr University, Bochun, Germany; Habilitation 1998, Osnabrueck University, Osnabrueck, Germany;  U.S. Latino/a literature; Comparative literature of the Americas and Transamerican literary and cultural studies; U.S. modernism; women writers (20th century); the domestic and the urban.  e-mail: mkaup@u.washington.edu

Kenney, Richard L. (1987); Professor.  BA, 1970, Dartmouth College; poetry writing. e-mail: rk@u.washington.edu

Korg, Jacob (1955); (Professor Emeritus). PhD 1952 Columbia University; Victorian, twentieth-century literature.



L

LaGuardia, Eric Henry (1961); (Associate Professor Emeritus). PhD, 1961, University of lowa; Renaissance literature. e-mail: ehl@u.washington.edu

La Porte, Charles (2005); Assistant Professor. PhD, 2004, University of Michigan; Victorian literature.

Laufenberg, Henry (2003); Lecturer. Ph.D. 2001, University of California, Riverside; Interdisciplinary Writing, Modern American Literature, Henry Miller. e-mail: hjl3@u.washington.edu

Lockwood, Thomas Frank (1967); Professor.  PhD, 1967, Rice University; eighteenth-century literature. e-mail: tlock@u.washington.edu

Longyear, Christopher R. (1972); (Associate Professor Emeritus); PhD, 1961, University of Michigan; linguistics.



M, N

Matchett, William H. (1954); (Professor Emeritus); PhD, 1957, Harvard University; Renaissance literature, Shakespeare.

Matthews, Carrie (2008); IWP Lecturer; PhD, 2007, University of North Carolina, Chapel Hill.

McCracken, J David  (1966); (Professor Emeritus); PhD, 1966, University of Chicago; eighteenth-century literature, romanticism, biblical literature. e-mail: davidmcc@u.washington.edu

McElroy, Colleen W. (1972); (Professor Emerita); PhD, 1973, University of Washington; Black literature, women writers, poetry writing. Personal homepage. e-mail: dragnldy@u.washington.edu

McHugh, Heather (1982); Professor.  MA,1973, University of Denver; writing and close reading of poetry, form in nature and art. Personal homepage. e-mail: postcocious@gmail.com

McNamara, Robert J. (1985); Senior Lecturer. PhD, 1985, University of Washington; expository and interdisciplinary writing. Personal homepage. e-mail:  rmcnamar@u.washington.edu

Modiano, Raimonda (1978); Professor.  PhD, 1973, University of California (San Diego); romanticism. e-mail: modiano@u.washington.edu

Moore, Colette (2005); Assistant Professor. PhD, 2004, University of Michigan; language study.

Motha, Suhanthie (2008); Assistant Professor; PhD, 2004, University of Maryland.

Mussetter, Sally Ann (1978); (Associate Professor Emerita); PhD, 1975, Cornell University; medieval language and literature. Personal homepage. e-mail: mussette@u.washington.edu



O, P, Q

O'Neill, John (1999); Lecturer.  MA, 1986, University of Washington; expository and interdisciplinary writing. e-mail: joneill@u.washington.edu

Palomo, Dolores J. (1971); (Associate Professor Emerita); PhD, 1972, State University of New York (Buffalo); Rennaissance literature, women writers.

Patterson, Mark R. (1981); Associate Professor. PhD, 1981, Princeton University; American literature. e-mail: mpat@u.washington.edu

Popov, Nikolai  (1995); Senior Lecturer. PhD, 1994, University of Washington; modern poetry and fiction, modern Anglo-Irish literature, James Joyce, W. B. Yeats, Samuel Beckett, Paul Celan. e-mail: nikolai_popov@hotmail.com



R

Rai, Candace  (2008); Assistant Professor. PhD, 2008, University of Illinois at Chicago. email: crai@u.washington.edu

Reddy, Chandan  (2001); Assistant Professor. PhD 2001, Columbia University; multi-ethnic literature, 20th-century American literature, American studies, cross-cultural queer studies, critical race theory, globalization, queer theory, feminism, transnational cultural studies. email: ccreddy@u.washington.edu

Reed, Brian M (2000); Associate Professor. PhD Stanford; 20th-century American and English poetry; modernism; post-modernism; the avant-garde; post-Civil War American literature. Personal homepage. e-mail:bmreed@u.washington.edu

Reinert, Otto (1956); (Professor Emeritus); PhD, 1952, Yale University; comparative literature, eighteenth-century literature.

Remley, Paul G. (1988); Professor.  PhD, 1990, Columbia University; Old and Middle English, medieval languages and literatures, critical theory. Complete vita. e-mail: remley@u.washington.edu



S

Sale, Roger H. (1962); (Professor Emeritus);  PhD, 1957, Cornell University; Renaissance literature. e-mail: sale@u.washington.edu

Searle, Leroy F. (1977); Professor. PhD, 1970, University of lowa; twentieth-century literature, critical theory, American studies. e-mail: lsearle@u.washington.edu

Shields, David (1988); Professor.  MFA, 1980, University of lowa; creative non-fiction writing, fiction writing, screenwriting, contemporary literature. Personal homepage. e-mail: dshields@u.washington.edu

Shulman, Robert (1961); (Professor Emeritus); PhD,1959, Ohio State University; American literature. e-mail: rshulman@u.washington.edu

Silberstein, Sandra V. (1982); Professor.  PhD, 1982, University of Michigan; TESL, critical theory, discourse analysis, sociolinguistics, language and culture. e-mail: tq@u.washington.edu

Simmons-O'Neill, Elizabeth (1985); Senior Lecturer. PhD, 1988 University of Washington; expository and interdisciplinary writing, service learning, education and tutoring. Personal homepage. e-mail: esoneill@u.washington.edu

Simpson, Caroline Chung (1994); Associate Professor. PhD 1994, University of Texas; Asian-American literature and culture. e-mail: csimpson@u.washington.edu

Smith, Eugene H. (1958); (Associate Professor Emeritus); PhD, 1963, University of Washington; rhetoric and theory of composition.

Sonenberg, Maya (1993); Associate Professor. MA 1984, Brown University; fiction writing, twentieth-century fiction, postmodern fiction, women writers. e-mail: mayas@u.washington.edu

Stanton, Robert B. (1956); (Associate Professor Emeritus); PhD, 1953, Indiana University; American literature.

Staten, Henry (1998); Professor.  PhD 1978, University of Texas. history and theory of criticism, 19th- and 20th-century British literature, race, nationality and ethnicity. e-mail: hstaten@u.washington.edu

Stevick, Robert D. (1962); (Professor Emeritus); PhD, 1956, University of Wisconsin; medieval language and literature. e-mail: stevickr@u.washington.edu

Streitberger,William R. (1973);  Professor.  PhD 1973 University of Illinois; Renaissance literature, textual criticism, paleography. e-mail: streitwr@u.washington.edu

Stygall, Gail (1990); Professor. PhD, 1989, Indiana University; rhetoric and composition, English language linguistics, law and literature. Personal homepage. e-mail: stygall@u.washington.edu



T

Taranath, Anu (2001); Senior Lecturer.  Ph.D. 2000, University of California San Diego; contemporary world and multi-ethnic literatures; colonial and postcolonial literatures and theory; transnational feminist and cultural studies. e-mail: anu@u.washington.edu

Tollefson, James W. (1984). (Professor Emeritus)  PhD, 1978, Stanford University; English as a second language, language planning. e-mail: tollefso@u.washington.edu

Triplett, Pimone (2006); Assistant Professor. MFA 1990, University of Iowa; poetry writing. e-mail: ptrip@u.washington.edu



U, V

Vaughan, Miceal F. (1973); Associate Professor. PhD, 1973, Cornell University; medieval language and literature. Personal homepage. e-mail:miceal@u.washington.edu



W, X, Y, Z

Wacker, Norman J. (1989); Senior Lecturer. PhD, 1986, University of Washington; expository and interdisciplinary writing. e-mail: nwacker@u.washington.edu

Wagoner, David R. (1957); (Professor Emeritus).  MA, 1949, Indiana University; twentieth-century literature, fiction and poetry writing. e-mail: renogawd@aol.com

Webster, John M. (1972); Associate Professor. PhD, 1974, University of California (Berkeley); Renaissance literature. Personal homepage. e-mail:cicero@u.washington.edu

Weinbaum, Alys (1998); Associate Professor. PhD 1998, Columbia University; Modern Trans-Atlantic Literature and Culture, Feminism, Critical Theory, Critical Race Theory, American Studies, Transnational Cultural Studies. e-mail: alysw@u.washington.edu

Wong, Shawn H. (1984); Professor.  MA, 1974, San Francisco State University; creative writing, Chinese-American area studies. e-mail: homebase@u.washington.edu

Woodward, Kathleen (2000); Professor.  PhD 1976, University of California-San Diego; American literature; women studies. e-mail: kw1@u.washington.edu
 



to home page
top of page
top