ISCRM

Leadership

moon pic Randall T. Moon, PhD
Director, ISCRM
William & Marilyn Connor Professor and
HHMI Investigator
206-543-1722
rtmoon@uw.edu
blau pic C. Anthony Blau, MD
Co-Director, ISCRM
Professor of Medicine, Division of Hematology
tblau@uw.edu
murry pic Charles Murry, MD, PhD
Co-Director, ISCRM
Professor of Pathology
Director, Center for Cardiovascular Biology
murry@uw.edu
ruohola-baker pic Hannele Ruohola-Baker, PhD
Associate Director, ISCRM
Professor of Biochemistry
hannele@uw.edu
ware pic Carol Ware, PhD
Associate Director, ISCRM
Director, Ellison Stem Cell Core
Professor of Comparative Medicine
cware@uw.edu
vosk pic Kristine Vosk
Manager, ISCRM
206-685-1954
kvosk@uw.edu

Oversight

All activities of the Institute will be imbued with an expectation of adhering to the highest standards of ethics, which will be formalized by having noted bioethicists involved in all stages of Institute design, operations, and oversight. Thus there will be formal training in bioethics before research and training commences, and monitoring procedures thereafter to insure compliance. The Institute has normal oversight and transparency in accordance with University policies.

Oversight Of The Team

Drs. Moon, Blau and Murry are the internationally recognized researchers who are responsible for planning, oversight, and the scientific and medical goals of ISCRM. They report to the office of the Dean of the School of Medicine, as well as an oversight committee, chaired by William Catterall, the Chair of the Department of Pharmacolgy. This advisory board includes internationally recognized scientists, Department Chairs and meets on a semi-annual basis.

Embryonic Stem Cell Research Oversight

The University of Washington (UW) established the Embryonic Stem Cell Research Oversight Committee (ESCRO), which exists to review and approve research involving human embryonic stem cells (hESC). The ESCRO Committee review ensures that both institutional and public concerns regarding sensitive ethical, legal, scientific, and policy issues unique to hESC research are addressed. For more information please visit the ESCRO website.