Laboratory Medicine banner
     
Home DivisionsHematology Hematopathology

Hematopathology Section

Hematopathology Laboratory

blast

Outreach Laboratory Testing Services

The University of Washington Department of Laboratory Medicine is one of the finest outreach laboratories in the United States. We receive specimens from across the country, but focus our efforts in Washington, Alaska and the rest of WWAMI region (Wyoming, Montana and Idaho). Our laboratory has the largest testing menu on the West Coast, which includes:

  • Computer interfaces for order entry and results to decrease laboratory errors and labor
  • Courier pickups available throughout the Puget Sound region, as well as Whatcom County
  • State of the art telephone call center with minimal or no wait times

Resources/Links


Mission Statement

Our mission is to be a world-class resource for testing that aids in the diagnosis and treatment of hematopoietic disorders. We provide gold-standard, accurate, and efficient services to health care providers for the benefit of patients.

Introduction

The Hematopathology Laboratory at the University of Washington offers a wide variety of testing to aid in the diagnosis of leukemias, lymphomas and other hematopoietic or immunological disorders. In addition, the laboratory is involved in research and development of diagnostic tests and their clinical application. The laboratory personnel also provide high quality teaching to residents, fellows, medical students and medical laboratory science students. Finally, the laboratory is committed to keeping community clinicians informed of new developments in this rapidly changing area of laboratory medicine.

Faculty

  • Lorinda Soma, MD
  • Hematopathology Division Head, Director Hematopathology Laboratory
  • Associate professor, Hematopathology division
  • E-mail: somal@uw.edu
  • Phone: 206-606-7060

  • Daniel E. Sabath, MD, PhD
  • Hematology Division Head, Director, Red Cell Disorders and General Hematology Laboratories
  • Associate professor, Hematopathology division
  • Email: dsabath@uw.edu
  • Phone: 206-606-7060

  • Sindhu Cherian, MD
  • Clinical Flow Cytometry, Director
  • Associate professor, Hematopathology division
  • E-mail: cherians@uw.edu
  • Phone: 206-606-7060

  • Kerstin Edlefsen, MD
  • Hematopathology Specimen Management Group, Director
  • Associate professor, Hematopathology division
  • E-mail: edlefsen@uw.edu
  • Phone: 206-606-7060

  • Jonathan Fromm, MD, PhD
  • Hematopathology Morphologic Diagnostics, Director
  • Clinical Flow Cytometry, Associate Director
  • Associate professor, Hematopathology division
  • E-mail: jfromm@uw.edu
  • Phone: 206-606-7060

  • Emily Glynn, MD
  • Laboratory Medicine residency, Co-Director
  • Assistant professor, Hematopathology division
  • E-mail: eglynn@uw.edu
  • Phone: 206-606-7060

  • David Wu, MD, PhD
  • Molecular Hematopathology, Director
  • Associate professor, Hematopathology division
  • E-mail: dwu2@uw.edu
  • Phone: 206-606-7060

  • Xueyan Chen, MD, PhD
  • Developmental Hematopathology, Director
  • Associate professor, Hematopathology division
  • E-mail: xchen1@uw.edu
  • Phone: 206-606-7060

  • Ashley Eckel, MD, PhD
  • Hematopathology, Associate Director
  • Assistant professor, Hematopathology division
  • E-mail: aeckel@uw.edu
  • Phone: 206-606-7060

  • Feras Ally, MD
  • Hematopathology, Associate Director
  • Acting assistant professor, Hematopathology division
  • E-mail: fally@uw.edu
  • Phone: 206-606-7060

  • Dan Martig, MD
  • Hematopathology, Associate Director
  • Assistant professor, Hematopathology division
  • E-mail: dmartig@uw.edu
  • Phone: 206-606-7060

Supervisory Staff

  • Julie Sako, MT(ASCP)
  • Hematopathology Manager
  • E-mail: sakoj@uw.edu
  • Voice mail: 206-606-7113
  • Fax: 206-606-7127

  • Bethany Szydlowski
  • Specimen Management Supervisor
  • E-mail: betszy@uw.edu
  • Voice Mail: 206-606-2561
  • Fax: 206-606-7127

  • Alexis Fujinari, MLS(ASCP)CM
  • Flow Cytometry/Pathways Lead
  • E-mail: ajf29@uw.edu
  • Phone: 206-606-7060

  • Ibrahim Hersi
  • Specimen Management Lead
  • E-mail: iahersi@uw.edu
  • Phone: 206-606-7060

  • Eric Hoyle, MLS(ASCP)CM
  • Molecular Hematopathology Lead
  • E-mail: hoylee@uw.edu
  • Phone: 206-606-7070

  • Julia Huang MLS(ASCP)CM
  • Research and Development Lead
  • E-mail: jhuang90@uw.edu
  • Phone: 206-606-7046

  • Zhengwei 'Jenny' Mao MLS(ASCP)CM
  • Health Program Operations Specialist
  • Research and Development
  • E-mail: zjm88@uw.edu
  • Phone: 206-606-7046

  • Valerie Miller, MLS(ASCP)CMSCYMCM
  • Flow Cytometry Hematopathology Lead
  • E-mail: vafisher@uw.edu
  • Phone: 206-606-7060

  • Shannon Nesbitt, BS, MT(ASCP)
  • Molecular Hematopathology Lead
  • E-mail: snesbitt@uw.edu
  • Phone: 206-606-7070

  • KK Panyathong
  • Specimen Management Lead
  • E-mail: kkpanya@uw.edu
  • Phone: 206-606-7060

  • Colin Ramsay
  • Program Operations Analyst
  • E-mail: ctramsay@uw.edu
  • Phone: 206-606-1745

Laboratory Contact Information

Address:

  • Hematopathology Laboratory, G7-800
  • Seattle Cancer Care Alliance
  • 825 Eastlake Avenue E.
  • Seattle, WA 98109

  • Fred Hutchinson Molecular Oncology
  • Located in the Thomas Building, D2-281
  • Phone: (206) 667-2592
  • ABL1 mutational analysis testing on transplant patients.

  • UW Genetics Laboratory
  • University of Washington Medical Center, Room NW 275
  • Phone: (206) 598-6429
  • KIT mutations in exon 8 and 17

After hours contact the hemepath fellow on call: 206-598-6190

Phone Numbers:

  • Flow Cytometry Hematopathology: 206-606-7060
  • Molecular Hematopathology: 206-606-7070

Fax:

  • Hematopathology: 206-606-7127

Last updated: 03/10/2021