Department of Neurology

Program Faculty

Mark S. Wainwright, M.D., Ph.D.
Professor of Neurology and Pediatrics, Herman and Faye Sarkowksy Endowed Chair in Child Neurology

Clinical Interests: Pediatric neurocritical care; cardiac arrest, refractory status epilepticus, acute stroke, traumatic brain injury; neurologic complications of critical illness including sepsis and acute liver failure.
Research Interests: Application of big data in pediatric critical care; role of neuroinflammation in acute brain injuries; non-invasive neuromonitoring in the ICU
Email: mark.wainwright@seattlechildrens.org 

Epilepsy

Edward J. Novotny, Jr., M.D.
Professor of Neurology and Pediatrics, Alvord, Gerlich, and Rhodes Family Endowed Chair in Pediatric Epilepsy 

Clinical Interests: Pediatric Epilepsy.
Research Interests: Use of functional MRI and MR spectroscopy in the evaluation of children for epilepsy surgery.
Email: ejn4@uw.edu

Xiuhua Liang Bozarth, M.D., Ph.D.
Assistant Professor of Neurology

Clinical Interests: pediatric epilepsy
Research Interests: clinical uses of continuous EEG monitoring
Email: xiuhua.bozarth@seattlechildrens.org 

Ahmad Marashly, M.D.
Assistant Professor of Neurology

Clinical Interests: Refractory epilepsy, epilepsy surgery, invasive EEG, brain mapping
Research Interests: Multiple hoppocampal transections, laser ablation for epilepsy surgery, invasive EEG signal analysis, epilepsy surgery outcomes, pediatric tumoral epilepsy, multi-modal imaging in epilepsy, brain mapping
Email: ahmad.marashly@seattlechildrens.org 

Priya Monrad, M.D.
Assistant Professor of Neurology

Clinical Interests: Refractory epilepsy, genetic syndromes, and neonatal neurology.
Research Interests: NIRS and other non-invasive seizure localization methods.
Email: priya.monrad@seattlechildrens.org 

James Owens, M.D., Ph.D.
Associate Professor of Neurology, Adjunct Associate Professor of Pediatrics, Director of Pediatric Neurology Residency Program

Clinical Interests: Epilepsy, clinical neurophysiology, general child neurology.
Research Interests: Neurological education, clinical application of electroneurodiagnostic techniques.
Email: james.owens@seattlechildrens.org

Lorie D. Hamiwka , M.D.
Clinical Associate Professor of Neurology

Clinical Interests: Pediatric epilepsy
Research Interests: Pediatric epilepsy and quality of life
Email: lorie.hamiwka@seattlechildrens.org

Jonathan Lopez, M.D.
Clinical Assistant Professor of Neurology

Clinical Interests: pediatric epilepsy
Research Interests: outcomes research in pediatric epilepsy
Email: jonathan.lopez@seattlechildrens.org 

Jason Lockrow, M.D., Ph.D.
Assistant Professor of Neurology

Clinical Interests: Pediatric epilepsy, ketogenic diet, infantile spasms
Research Interests: Genetics of pediatric epilepsies
Email: Jason.lockrow@seattlechildrens.org 

Mitochondrial and Metabolic Disorders

Russell Saneto, Ph.D., D.O.
Professor of Neurology, Adjunct Professor of Pediatrics

Clinical Interests: Pediatric epilepsy, Epilepsy surgery, Mitochondrial disease, Neurometabolic disease
Research Interests: Mitochondrial disease and epilepsy, Mitochondrial disease, Epilepsy surgery outcomes, Infantile spasms, Ketogenic diet
Email: russ.saneto@seattlechildrens.org

Sidney M. Gospe, Jr., M.D., Ph.D.
Professor Emeritus of Neurology and Pediatrics

Clinical Interests: General pediatric neurology, Pediatric neuromuscular disease
Research Interests: Pyridoxine dependent epilepsy, Neurotoxicology
Email: sgospe@uw.edu

Neurocritical Care and Stroke

Catherine Amlie-Lefond, M.D.
Professor of Neurology, Director Pediatric Vascular Neurology Program

Clinical Interests: Pediatric stroke, cerebrovascular disease, and general pediatric neurology
Research Interests: Pediatric stroke
Email: calefond@uw.edu 

Giulia Benedetti, M.D.
Assistant Professor of Neurology

Clinical Interests: Pediatric neurocritical care, ICU EEG, and epilepsy
Research Interests: Pediatric stroke

Lindsey Morgan, M.D.
Assistant Professor of Neurology

Clinical Interests: Hospital, based pediatric neurology, clinical neurophysiology
Research Interests: Pediatric neurology outcomes and clinical effectiveness research
Email: lindsey.morgan@seattlechildrens.org

Niranjana (Nina) Natarajan, M.D.
Assistant Professor of Neurology

Clinical Interests: Neonatal neurology, general pediatric neurology
Research Interests: Neonatal neurology
Email: nina.natarajan@seattlechildrens.org

Mark S. Wainwright, M.D., Ph.D.
Professor of Neurology and Pediatrics, Herman and Faye Sarkowksy Endowed Chair in Child Neurology

Clinical Interests: Pediatric neurocritical care; cardiac arrest, refractory status epilepticus, acute stroke, traumatic brain injury; neurologic complications of critical illness including sepsis and acute liver failure.
Research Interests: Application of big data in pediatric critical care; role of neuroinflammation in acute brain injuries; non-invasive neuromonitoring in the ICU
Email: mark.wainwright@seattlechildrens.org

Neonatal Neurology

Niranjana (Nina) Natarajan , M.D.
Assistant Professor of Neurology

Clinical Interests: Neonatal neurology, general pediatric neurology
Research Interests: Neonatal neurology
Email: nina.natarajan@seattlechildrens.org 

Hannah Tully, M.D.
Assistant Professor of Neurology

Clinical Interests: General pediatric neurology, neurogenetics
Research Interests: Neurogenetics of hydrocephalus
Email: hmtully@uw.edu 

Neurogenetics

William Dobyns, M.D.
Professor of Pediatrics and Neurology

Clinical Interests: Neurogenetics
Research Interests: Developmental neurobiology and neurogenetics of brain malformations, autism, and infantile spasms
Email: william.dobyns@seattlechildrens.org

Hannah Tully, M.D.
Assistant Professor of Neurology

Clinical Interests: General pediatric neurology, neurogenetics
Research Interests: Neurogenetics of hydrocephalus
Email: hmtully@uw.edu

Movement Disorders

Dararat (Pam) Mingbunjerdsuk, M.D.
Assistant Professor of Neurology

Clinical Interests: General pediatric neurology, movement disorders
Research Interests: Movement disorders
Email: Dararat.Mingbunjerdsuk@seattlechildrens.org

Neuro-muscular

Seth Perlman, M.D.
Associate Professor of Neurology

Clinical Interests: Neuromuscular disorders, electrodiagnostic evauluation (electromyography and nerve conduction studies)
Research Interests: EMG, neurodiagnostics, neurotherapeutics, treatment of neuromuscular disorders
Email: seth.perlman@seattlechildrens.org 

Neurooncology

Aimee Sato, M.D.
Assistant Professor of Neurology

Clinical Interests: Neurofibromatosis Type 1 and Type 2, Neuro-oncology
Research Interests: Neurologic complications of brain tumors and their treatments in children
Email: aimee.sato@seattlechildrens.org 

Juliane Gust, M.D., Ph.D.
Acting Instructor of Neurology

Clinical Interests: pediatric neuro–oncology, general pediatric neurology
Research Interests: neurological complications of CAR–T cell immunotherapy
Email: juliane.gust@seattlechildrens.org

Peter Kollros, M.D., Ph.D.
Associate Professor of Neurology

Clinical Interests: General child neurology, Cognitive behavioral child neurology, Landau Kleffner syndrome, Autism, Neurological complications of cancer
Research Interests: Cognitive behavioral child neurology, Landau Kleffner syndrome, Autism, Neurological complications of cancer
Email: peter.kollros@seattlechildrens.org

Tuberous Sclerosis

Stephanie Randle, M.D.
Clinical Assistant Professor of Neurology

Clinical Interests: General pediatric neurology, pediatric epilepsy, tuberous sclerosis complex
Research Interests: Neurologic outcomes and novel treatments for tuberous sclerosis complex
Email: scarapet@uw.edu

Neuroinflammatory Disorders

Catherine Otten, M.D.
Clinical Assistant Professor of Neurology

Clinical Interests: General pediatric neurology, multiple sclerosis
Research Interests: Pediatric multiple sclerosis
Email: csmit12@uw.edu

Headache

Heidi Blume, M.D., M.P.H.
Associate Professor of Neurology

Clinical Interests: Headache, general pediatric neurology
Research Interests: Epidemiology of pediatric headache
Email: hblume@uw.edu

John Jay Alexander, M.D.
Clinical Associate Professor of Neurology

Clinical Interests: General pediatric neurology, neurofibromatosis.
Research Interests: 
Email: john.alexander@seattlechildrens.org

Language Disorders

Kyle Steinman, M.D, M.A.S.
Associate Professor of Neurology

Clinical Interests: Developmental speech and language disorders, autistic spectrum disorders, learning disorders in neurologic disease, other neurologic conditions with associated cognitive and behavioral dysfunction.
Research Interests: Understanding brain differences that underlie language and cognitive functioning in individuals with autism and other neurologic disorders.
Email: kylejs@uw.edu

Sleep

Carey T. Lockhart, M.D.
Clinical Assistant Professor of Pediatrics and Neurology

Clinical Interests: Sleep medicine, General pediatric neurology
Research Interests: Pediatric sleep medicine
Email: carey.lockhart@seattlechildrens.org

Joanna Wrede, M.D.
Assistant Professor of Pediatrics and Neurology

Clinical Interests: Sleep medicine, General pediatric neurology
Research Interests: Pediatric sleep medicine
Email: joanna.wrede@seattlechildrens.org

Neuropsychology

Hillary Shurtleff, Ph.D., ABPP-CN
Clinical Associate Professor of Neurology

Clinical Interests: Epilepsy/neuropsychology of epilepsy, Outcomes following epilepsy surgery, Neuropsychological aspects of mitochondrial disorders
Research Interests: Neuropsychological aspects of epilepsy
Email: hillary.shurtleff@seattlechildrens.org

Kristina Patrick, Ph.D., BCBA
Acting Assistant Professor of Neurology

Clinical Interests: Epilepsy, neurocritical care, neurofibromatosis, acquired brain injury, language disorders
Research Interests: Neurocognitive screening, pediatric epilepsy, autism specrum disorder, stroke, traumatic brain injury
Email: kristina.patrick@seattlechildrens.org