Health Sciences Services

March 4, 2013

Provost Visits Board of Health Sciences Deans

Viewing the model of the future Portage Bay Campus

Left to Right: Joel Berg (Dean, School of Dentistry), Karina Walters (Associate Dean for Research, School of Social Work), Paul Jenny (Vice Provost, Planning & Budgeting), and Ana Mari Cauce (Provost & Executive Vice President)

At the February 2012 meeting of the Board of Health Sciences’ Deans, Provost Ana Mari Cauce joined the six Health Sciences’ Deans and the Health Sciences’ Executive Director for an in-depth discussion of the Interprofessional Education Initiative (IPE). Ongoing planning related to innovations in curricula and infrastructure enhancement were thoroughly examined by the group. The IPE discussion was further enhanced by the presence of the integrated model of the future Portage Bay Campus. Paul Jenny, Vice Provost, Planning and Budgeting provided an overview of the short and long range vision of the future campus assisted by Kateri Schlessman, Senior Planner, and Rebecca Barnes, University Architect.

The Board of Health Sciences’ Deans meet monthly to discuss current initiatives and issues across the six Health Sciences Schools and Health Sciences Administration. Members include: Thomas Baillie – School of Pharmacy, Joel Berg – School of Dentistry, Paul Ramsey – School of Medicine, Pamela Mitchell – School of Nursing, Howard Frumkin – School of Public Health, Edwina Uehara – School of Social Work, and David Anderson – Health Sciences Administration Executive Director.