Penny Hazelton Endowed Fund for Law Librarianship
This scholarship is primarily intended to be used to support students for their Directed Fieldwork and American Association of Law Libraries (AALL) Annual Meeting expenses.
Scholarship details:
  • Up to two scholarships per year may be awarded.
  • Scholarships will be approximately $1000 if awarded that year.

Note: Restricted to students currently enrolled in the Law Librarianship Program. Applications due May 1.


The Melissa Landers Memorial Fund
This scholarship is intended primarily to provide scholarships to incoming students in the program.
Scholarship details:


  • Up to to two scholarships per year may be awarded.


  • Scholarships will be approximately $1500 if awarded that year.


  • Scholarships will be rewarded on a merit-based scale


All incoming students accepted into the Law Librarianship Program will be automatically eligible for the scholarship. The Director of the Law Librarianship Program (and/or their designate) will be responsible for the awarding of funds.
Earl Borgeson Award
This award will be used to recognize the outstanding paper submitted by the current Law Librarianship Program class in the Research & Writing for Law Librarians class (LIS 595).


Award details: 
  • Restricted to one award per year of $1500.00
  • Award will be determined by the editorial consultants panel chosen by the Executive Editor of Legal Reference Services Quarterly.


Application: All students enrolled in LIS 595 (Research & Writing for Law Librarians) will be automatically eligible for the award. The Borgeson Award will be given out at the end of Spring Quarter each year.
Law Librarians of Puget Sound (LLOPS)

The Law Librarians of Puget Sound offer grants the LLOPS Professional Development Conference and AALL.

The Grants Committee awards funds to attend the annual LLOPS Professional Development Conference as well as awards (of varying amounts) to attend the AALL Annual Meeting.  Grants are usually awarded in the Spring. 

See the LLOPS website ( for details and application form and more details. Eligibility is limited to LLOPS members only.

American Association of Law Libraries (AALL)

Every year AALL awards thousands of dollars in scholarships to law school and library school students and AALL members. The following scholarships are awarded annually:

◦ Library School Scholarships (for those with or without JDs)
◦ Law School Scholarships (for those with MLS/MLIS and those seeking dual JD/MLIS)
◦ Scholarships for Library School Graduates Seeking a Non-Law Degree
◦ LexisNexis John R. Johnson Memorial Scholarship
◦ AALL and Thomson Reuters George A. Strait Minority Scholarship
◦ Scholarships for Continuing Professional Education Courses
◦ Marcia J. Koslov Scholarship for members to attend continuing education programs for state, court, or county law librarians

To learn more about the scholarships, instructions, and applications process, contact the AALL Scholarship Award Jury Chair or AALL Headquarters.

Western Pacific Chapter of AALL (WestPac)

Information about WestPac Grants

All WestPac members are eligible. Applicants should complete the appropriate form and submit it with two letters of recommendation to the committee chair. One of the letters of recommendation must be from someone at the applicant's institution or library. The successful applicants must be willing to write about their meeting experience for the newsletter and must be willing to serve on a WestPac committee of their choice.

DJ Morrison Grant

Approved by WestPac Executive Board July 2005

DJ Morrison was a much esteemed and loved WestPac member who served as the Electronic Services Librarian at the State of Oregon Law Library before passing away in 2003. This grant was established in her honor, to provide financial assistance in attending WestPac's annual meeting to those members pursuing careers or responsibilities in the area of electronic services. This grant carries a value of up to $500.00, dependent on projected conference expenses and financial need expressed by the successful applicant.

Travel grants are restricted to WestPac members only.