CHDD
CHDD popup menu
 
chdd logo
Center on Human Development and Disability
About CHDD | IDDRC | UCEDD   

CHDD at the University of Washington

Home Page

Calendar of Events

Directions & Transportation

Director's Message

Contact Us

CHDD Directory

UCEDD Faculty & Professional Staff

UCEDD Overview | Adults & Elders Program | Autism Center | Barnard Center for Infant Mental Health and Development | Center for Technology and Disability Studies | Clinical Training Unit | Community Disability Policy Initiative | Haring Center / EEU | Genetics Program


UCEDD Central Administration
Michael J. Guralnick, Ph.D. Professor, Psychology and Pediatrics
Director, University Center for Excellence in Developmental Disabilities
mjgural@uw.edu
Richard Masse, M.P.H. Director of Administration
rmasse@uw.edu
Devon Bacon, B.A.

Administrator of Technology & Facilities
dbacon@uw.edu

Sharan Brown, J.D., Ed.D.

Associate Director, University Center for Excellence in Developmental Disabilities
sbrown@uw.edu

Sharon Kiehn, B.S.W.

Clinic Manager
skiehn@uw.edu

Patricia Hochstat , M.B.A. Assistant to the Director
ph27@uw.edu

Return to top


Adults & Elders Program
Kurt Johnson, Ph.D. Director, Adults and Elders Program
kjohnson@uw.edu
Sharan Brown, J.D., Ed.D. Research Associate Professor
sbrown@uw.edu

Return to top


Autism Center
Annette Estes , Ph.D. Director, UW Autism Center
estesa@uw.edu
Nicolette Brigham, PhD, BCBA-D Director of Training and Outreach
nicb2@uw.edu
Angela Belt Scheduling Coordinator
Belta2@uw.edu
Joyce Bolz Billing Assistant
jbolz4@uw.edu
Catherine Brock, M.A., LMHC Associate Director; Director of Operations
cbrock@uw.edu
Amany Eskandar Billing Coordinator
amanyesk@uw.edu
Alicia Giunta Intake Coordinator
giunta@uw.edu
Charu Gupta, M.Ed., BCBA Behavior & Education Consultant
charug@uw.edu
Kelly A. Johnson, Ph.D. Clinical Psychologist
kel@uw.edu
Ashley Penney, M.Ed., BCBA Behavior & Education Consultant
aberger2@uw.edu
Amy Rodda, M.A., CCC-SLP Speech Langage Pathologist
amyp78@uw.edu
Kyle Steinman, M.D., M.A.S.

UW Autism Center Medical Director

Robin Talley, M.Ed., BCBA

Behavior & Education Consultant

Ella Vanderbilt, Ph.D. Licensed Psychologist
Sam Zinner, M.D. Developmental Behavioral Pediatrician
szinner@uw.edu

Return to top


Barnard Center for Infant Mental Health and Development (BCIMHD)
Susan Spieker, Ph.D. Professor, Family and Child Nursing
Director, Barnard Center for Infant Mental Health and Development
spieker@uw.edu
Cathryn Booth-LaForce, Ph.D. Professor, Family and Child Nursing
ibcb@uw.edu
Colleen Dillon, Ph.D. Senior Lecturer, Family & Child Nursing
Director of Training, Barnard Center for Infant Mental Health and Development
codillon@uw.edu
Jennifer Duval, B.A. Program Development Coordinator, NCAST Programs
jjduval@uw.edu
Denise Findlay, R.N., B.S.N. Director of Education and Outreach, NCAST Programs
Dmf56@uw.edu
Miriam Hirschstein, Ph.D. Research Scientist, Family and Child Nursing
Director of Evaluation, Barnard Center for Infant Mental Health and Development
mir@uw.edu
Melissa Hoffman, M.S.W. Lecturer in Family and Child Nursing
Barnard Center for Infant Mental Health and Development
mchoffman@uw.edu
Emily Lamont, B.A. Manager, Family and Child Nursing
Barnard Center for Infant Mental Health and Development
emeredit@uw.edu
Vicki Long, B.A. Business & Operations Manager, NCAST Programs
vlong@uw.edu
Kerri McKeighen Administrative Assistant, NCAST Programs
kerrim2@uw.edu
Julie Nagel, LICSW Lead Trainer, Promoting First Relationships
Barnard Center for Infant Mental Health and Development
janagel@uw.edu
Monica Oxford, Ph.D. Executive Director of NCAST Programs
mloxford@uw.edu
Jennifer Reese, MSW Program and Training Manager, Promoting First Relationships
Barnard Center for Infant Mental Health and Development
rees@uw.edu
Vy Tran Research Coordinator, Barnard Center for Infant Mental Health and Development
vytran@uw.edu

Return to top


Center for Technology and Disability Studies (CTDS)
Kurt Johnson, Ph.D. Director
kjohnson@uw.edu
Pat Brown, Ed.D. Associate Director
pabrown@uw.edu
Kim Cannan Program Coordinator, Independent Living Program for the Older Blind (ILOB)
kimcan@uw.edu
Sarah Blanchard, A.S. Employment Specialist Assistant
sablanch@uw.edu
Sharan Brown, J.D., Ed.D. Educational Leadership and Policy Studies
sbrown@uw.edu
Debbie Cook, B.S. DSB ILOB Director, WATAP Technical Assistance Coordinator
debcook@uw.edu
Gaby deJongh, B.S. Training Coordinator, Assistive Technology Specialist
gabyd@uw.edu
Patricia Dowden, Ph.D., C.C.C.-Sp(L). Clinical Assistant Professor
dowden@uw.edu
Aditya Ganapathiraju Research Assistant
Ag7@uw.edu
John Hanna Computer Support Specialist
jshanna@uw.edu
E Scott Heartfield, B.A. Employment Specialist
sheart@uw.edu
Mark Harniss, Ph.D. Clinical Associate Professor
mharniss@uw.edu
Curt Johnson, M.S., C.R.C., A.T.P. Rehabilitation Counselor
curtj@uw.edu
Maria Kelley, B.S., O.T.R./L, A.T.P. Senior Assistive Technology Specialist
mtkelley@uw.edu
Alan Knue, B.S.

WATAP State Project Director
karynsa@uw.edu

Yuanyuan Li Web and Database Specialist
bonnie@uw.edu
Becky Matter, M.A.

Project Analyst
bmatter@uw.edu

Samantha Murphy

Program Specialist
smurphy@uw.edu

Lee Olsen

Program Coordinator
lmolsen@uw.edu

Peter Simonson, M.S.W., C.R.C. Employment Specialist Lead
simonson@uw.edu
Scott Waite, B.A.

Employment Specialist
swaite@uw.edu

Stephen Weinhouse, M.S., C.R.C

Rehabilitation Counselor
weinhome@uw.edu

Jeff Witzel, B.S.

Director of Information Technology
sesame@uw.edu

Return to top


Clinical Training Unit (CTU)
Beth Ellen Davis, M.D., M.P.H. Director, Clinical Associate Professor of Pediatrics
bedavis@uw.edu
Susan Astley, Ph.D.

Professor, Epidemiology
Director, Fetal Alcohol Syndrome Diagnosis and Prevention Network
astley@uw.edu

Linda Backenstose, M.S.W. Social Work
lbacke@uw.edu
Ann Bennett, B.A. Fiscal Specialist
phrog@uw.edu
Forrest C. Bennett, M.D. Discipline Leader, Developmental Pediatrics
fbennett@uw.edu
Jan Bragg, M.A., P.T. Physical Therapist Specialist
jbragg@uw.edu
Sharan Brown, J.D., Ed.D. Discipline Leader, Disability Law
sbrown@uw.edu
Amy Carlsen, R.N. Discipline Leader, Parent Professional Partnership
Medical Home Leadership Network
carlsa@uw.edu
Truman Coggins, Ph.D. Discipline Leader, Speech-Language Pathology
tec@uw.edu
John Dunne, M.D. Discipline Leader, Child Psychiatry
jedunne@uw.edu
Peter Esselman, M.D. Discipline Leader, Adult Medical Specialties
esselman@uw.edu
Sharon Feucht, M.A., R.D., C.D. Nutrition Consultation and Training
Editor, Nutrition Focus Newsletter
sfeucht@uw.edu
Richard Folsom, Ph.D. Discipline Leader, Audiology
rfolsom@uw.edu
Harlan Gephart, M.D. Discipline Consultant, Behavioral Pediatrics
hgephart@peds-associates.com
Gwen Glew, M.D., M.P.H. Associate Professor, Pediatrics
glew@uw.edu
Anne Hay, Ph.D. Psychometrist, Psychology
ahay@uw.edu
Ross Hays, M.D. Discipline Leader, Pediatric Rehabilitation
rhays@chmc.org
Colleen Huebner, Ph.D., M.P.H. Discipline Leader, Public Health
colleenh@uw.edu
Cathy Keehnel Office Assistant
cathek@uw.edu
Kay Kopp, M.S., O.T.R. Occupational Therapy
kkopp@uw.edu
Sonja Kottke, Ph.D. Psychologist
skottke@uw.edu
Anne Leavitt, M.D. Clinical Assistant Professor, Pediatrics
anneleav@uw.edu
Penelope Leggott, D.D.S., M.S. Discipline Leader, Pediatric Dentistry
leggott@uw.edu
Kathleen Lehman, Ph.D. Clinical Instructor, Psychiatry & Behavioral Sciences
lehmank@uw.edu
Betty Lucas, R.D., M.P.H. Lecturer, Family and Child Nursing, Nutrition
blucas@uw.edu
Lisa Mancl, M.S. Audiology
lmancl@uw.edu
Brenda McNees-Thoreson, R.N. Clinic Nurse
bmct@uw.edu
Mari Obara, M.S., R.D., C.D. Nutritionist
lilmaro@uw.edu
Beth Ogata, M.S., R.D., C.D. Research Dietitian I, Pediatrics, Nutrition
bogata@uw.edu
Kate Orville, M.P.H. Program Manager, Medical Home Leadership Network
orville@uw.edu
Cynthia Padovano, B.A. Office Assistant
cinzia@uw.edu
Susan Toth Patiejunas, Ph.D. Clinical Instructor, Psychiatry & Behavioral Sciences
stoth@uw.edu
Yoshie Pearce Fiscal Specialist
yoshiep@uw.edu
Holly Petaja, PhD Clinical Instructor, Psychiatry & Behavioral Sciences
petaja@uw.edu
Susan Ramage, M.S., R.N. Discipline Leader, Nursing
sramage@uw.edu
Susan Sandall, Ph.D. Special Education
ssandall@uw.edu
Nancy Saunders, B.A. Administrative Assistant
charbert@uw.edu
Ilene Schwartz, Ph.D. Special Education
ilene@uw.edu
Laura Snow, Ph.D., CCC-SLP Clinical Instructor, Speech and Hearing Sciences
lsnow@uw.edu
Sally Stuart, Ph.D., M.S.W. Interdisciplinary Training Director
Discipline Leader, Social Work
sns@uw.edu
Katherine Tekolste, M.D. Clinical Associate Professor, Pediatrics
kat423@uw.edu
John Thorne, M.A., M.S., CCCSLP Speech & Hearing Sciences
jct6@uw.edu
William O. Walker, M.D. Director, Developmental/Behavioral Pediatrics Fellowship Program
william.walker@seattlechildrens.org
Kathleen Washington, Ph.D. Discipline Leader, Physical Therapy
kwpt@uw.edu
William Welton, Dr.P.H., M.H.A. Discipline Leader, Health Administration
wwelton@uw.edu
Susan Wendel, M.S., O.T.R. Discipline Leader, Occupational Therapy
swendel@uw.edu
Marcia Williams, M.S., P.T. Physical Therapy
mswanson@uw.edu
Samuel Zinner, M.D. Developmental/Behavioral Pediatrics Fellowship Program
szinner@uw.edu

Return to top


Community Disability Policy Initiative (CDPI)
Sharan Brown, J.D., Ed.D. Director, Community Disability Policy Initiative
sbrown@uw.edu
Pat Brown, Ed.D. Clinical Assistant Professor
pabrown@uw.edu
Kurt Johnson, Ph.D. Professor, Rehabilitation Medicine
kjohnson@uw.edu
Dennis Lang, R.N., M.P.H. Affiliate Instructor
dlang@uw.edu

Return to top


Haring Center / Experimental Education Unit (EEU)
Ilene Schwartz, Ph.D. Director, Experimental Education Unit
ilene@uw.edu
Kate Ahern Admissions Coordinator
kahern@uw.edu
Christy Baker Occupational Therapy
christybaker@uw.edu
Janet Bauer Speech Language Pathology
jbauer@uw.edu
Mara Calhoun Social Worker
swmara@uw.edu
Carol Davis, Ed.D. Assistant Professor, Special Education
cadavis1@uw.edu
Marsann Easterday Occupational Therapy
marsannd@uw.edu
Leslie Fox Occupational Therapy
lfox86@uw.edu
Sheryl French Speech Language Pathology
sfrench@uw.edu
Roxanne Hudson, Ph.D. Assistant Professor, Education
rhudson@uw.edu
Gail Joseph, Ph.D. Assistant Professor, Special Education
gjoseph@uw.edu
Amy Kullaway Speech Language Pathology
awt2@uw.edu
Mary Maass Speech Language Pathology
maass@uw.edu
Chris Matsumoto, M. Ed.

Principal, Experimental Education Unit
ctm@uw.edu

Julie Osterling, Ph.D. Director, UW CARE Clinic
careclin@uw.edu
Susan Ramage School Nurse
sramage@uw.edu
Susan Sandall, Ph.D. Assistant Director, Experimental Education Unit
ssandall@uw.edu
Vicki Tompkins Social Worker
vtompkin@uw.edu
Elizabeth A. West, Ph.D. Assistant Professor, Special Education
eawest@uw.edu
Owen White, Ph.D. Professor, Education
owhite@uw.edu
Rosie Yurick Occupational Therapy
roseyurick@uw.edu

Return to top


Genetics Program

C. Ron Scott, M.D.

Fuki Hisama, M.D.

Co-Director, Genetics Program
crscott@uw.edu
Co-Director, Genetics Program
fmh2@uw.edu
Laura Amendola, M.S., LGC. Genetic Counselor
lauraa7@uw.edu
Sam Bailey, M.S., LGC. Genetic Counselor
Robin Bennett, M.S., C.G.C. Senior Genetic Counselor, Co-Director Medical Genetics Clinic
robinb@uw.edu
Peter Byers, M.D. Professor, Pathology and Medicine
pbyers@uw.edu
Vicki Frasher Program Care Coordinator
vam@uw.edu
Ian Glass, M.D. Associate Professor, Pediatrics
ian.glass@seattlechildrens.org
Janet Hamovitch, M.S.W. Social Worker
garretso@uw.edu
Janie Heffernan, M.S., R.D., C.D. Nutritionist
jfh@uw.edu
Fuki Hisama , M.D.

Director, UWMC Medical Genetics Clinics
fmh2@uw.edu

Suman Jayadev, M.D. Acting Assistant Professor of Neurology
sumie@uw.edu
Anne Leavitt, M.D. Clinical Assistant Professor, Pediatrics
aml@uw.edu
Beth Ogata, M.S., R.D., C.D. Research Dietitian I, Pediatrics, Nutrition
bogata@uw.edu
Debra Olson Program Coordinator
olsondl@uw.edu
Wendy Raskind, M.D., Ph.D Professor, Medicine, Division of Genetics
wendyrun@uw.edu
Donna Ross MSW, LCSW Social Worker
donnagr@uw.edu
Britta Sjoding, MS, C.G.C. Genetic Counselor
bsjoding@uw.edu
Corrine Smith, MS, C.G.C.

Genetic Counselor, Medical Genetics
corrieo@uw.edu

Virginia Sybert, M.D.

Clinical Professor, Medicine
flk01@uw.edu

Lauren Thomas, MS, C.G.C. Genetic Counselor
lithomas@uw.edu
Cristine Trahms, M.S. Nutritionist, PKU/Genetics Clinic
ctrahms@uw.edu
Stefanie Uhrich, MS, C.G.C. Genetic Counselor
stef@uw.edu
Heidi Vance, MS, C.G.C. Genetic Counselor
hkvance@uw.edu

Return to top


University of Washington • Center on Human Development and Disability Box 357920 • Seattle WA 98195-7920 USA • 206-543-7701 • chdd@uw.edu

MRDDRC image and link UCEDD image and link