HBCLS Home » Resources » Samuel B. Bassett Scholarship in Labor Relations

Samuel B. Bassett Scholarship in Labor Relations

Established to memorialize long-time Seattle labor lawyer Samuel B. Bassett, this scholarship awards $5,500 to an undergraduate or graduate student pursuing a career in labor relations.

Samuel Bassett (1896-1971) was a Seattle plaintiffs lawyer who practiced with George Vandeveer from 1924-1942 and represented the Industrial Workers of the World, the Joint Council of Teamsters, No. 28 and other Teamster locals, as well as many civil rights and civil liberties cases.

Scholarship winners must demonstrate high academic achievement and be enrolled for Autumn Quarter of the upcoming academic year.

Application Process

Students may apply directly or be nominated by a faculty member. In addition to the Bassett Scholarship, applicants will also be considered for the Gundlach Scholarship in Labor Studies, Martin and Anne Jugum Scholarship in Labor Studies, and the Labor and Employment Relations Association Scholarship.

Required Application Materials

  1. A brief written personal statement by the applicant (not exceeding 750 words) explaining her or his commitment to the study of labor, involvement with the labor movement, or intention to pursue a career in labor relations.
  2. A brief letter of faculty support
  3. A copy of the student's transcript
  4. Include student's contact information, including email, mailing addresses, and phone number

Selection of the Bassett Scholarship recipients will be made by the Standing Committee of the Harry Bridges Center for Labor Studies and presented at the Bridges Center's annual awards celebration.

Deadline for application for the 2017-2018 academic year

Monday, June 12, 2017

Send applications to

    Andrew Hedden, Assistant Director
    Harry Bridges Center for Labor Studies
    University of Washington
    Box 353530

Previous Winners

  • 2016: Becky Fuller-Phillips
  • 2015: Garrett Strain
  • 2014: Ron Heley
  • 2013: Alyson Dimmitt Gnam
  • 2012: Daniel Cairns
  • 2011: Reyna Rollolazo