HBCLS Home » Resources » Gundlach Scholarship in Labor Studies

Gundlach Scholarship in Labor Studies

The Gundlach Scholarship provides $5,500 in financial support to an undergraduate or graduate student who exhibits a strong commitment to Labor Studies.

Created by the estate of Jean Gundlach, a long-time labor activist and secretary for the International Longshore and Warehouse Union (ILWU), this scholarship honors the memory of Jean and her siblings Wilford, Ralph and Betty, all of whom were University of Washington alumni. A UW professor, Ralph Gundlach was fired in 1948 after being branded a communist by the notorious Canwell Committee. Thanks to Jean's efforts in the early 1990s, then UW President William Gerberding issued a formal apology for the UW's role in the Canwell hearings.

Scholarship winners must demonstrate high academic achievement and be enrolled for Autumn Quarter of the upcoming academic year.

Application Process

Students may apply directly or be nominated by a faculty member. In addition to the Gundlach Scholarship, applicants will also be considered for the Martin and Anne Jugum Scholarship in Labor Studies, Samuel B. Bassett Scholarship in Labor Relations, and the Labor and Employment Relations Association Scholarship.

Required Application Materials

  1. A brief written statement by the applicant (not exceeding 750 words) explaining her or his commitment to the study of labor, involvement with the labor movement, or intention to pursue a career in labor relations.
  2. A brief letter of faculty support
  3. A copy of the student's transcript
  4. Include student's contact information, including email, mailing addresses, and phone number

Selection of the Gundlach Scholarship recipients will be made by the Standing Committee of the Harry Bridges Center for Labor Studies and presented at the Bridges Center's annual awards celebration.

Deadline for application for the 2017-2018 academic year

Monday, June 12, 2017

Send applications to

    Andrew Hedden, Associate Director
    Harry Bridges Center for Labor Studies
    University of Washington
    Box 353530

Previous Winners

  • 2016: Aditi Rajendran
  • 2015: Michael Reagan
  • 2014: Garrett Strain
  • 2013: Sigolene Ortega
  • 2012: Grace Flott
  • 2011: Eunice How