Kuril Island Volcanoes

The Kuril archipelago is an active volcanic island arc spanning the Okhotsk-Pacific boundary between the more terrestrial arcs of Japan and Kamchatka. The Kurils comprise 160 Quaternary terrestrial and 89 submarine volcanoes, built upon a Cretaceous to Neogene basement (Gorshkov 1970; Nemoto and Sasa 1960). Thirty-two of these volcanoes have erupted in the past 300 years (Ishizuka 2001).

Useful Links

Global Volcanism Program
Volcanoes of the Kurils
Volcanic Acivity and Recent Tephras in the Kuril Islands