CFRM Team Wins International Association for Quantitative Finance Competition

A team of CFRM students was recently announced as winners of the International Association for Quantitative Finance’s (IAQF) Seventh Annual Academic Affiliate Membership Student Competition.

The winning team, named Stratton Oakquant, was led by student team captain Gregory Brownson. Team members included Loc Cao, Tommy Lewis, Dominic Mauer, Hung Nguyen, and Jack Sneeringer. The team worked under the direction of CFRM Director Tim Leung.

“Winning the IAQF competition is a great testament to the academic strengths, collaborative efforts, and creativity of our CFRM students,” said Leung. “The CFRM program has always had a strong emphasis on applying new knowledge and skills to solve practical problems in quantitative finance.”

The competition problem required students to construct four portfolios and analyze option and momentum strategies. Submissions from twenty-three teams representing sixteen academic programs went through a blind, multi-level selection process and were reviewed by a panel of judges comprised of IAQF Board Members. Stratton Oakquant was one of three teams that received top honors.

The winning teams will be invited to present their solutions at an IAQF-sponsored event in New York, and the winning papers will be posted on the IAQF website. View Team Stratton Oakquant’s winning paper here.


The IAQF is the not-for-profit, professional society dedicated to fostering the profession of quantitative finance by providing platforms to discuss cutting-edge and pivotal issues in the field. Founded in 1992, the IAQF is composed of individual academics and practitioners from banks, broker dealers, hedge funds, pension funds, asset managers, technology firms, regulators, accounting, consulting and law firms, and universities across the globe.

Leave a Reply