Lab Members

Chet Moritz Portraits Chet Moritz PhD
ctmoritz@uw.edu
Cherng Jia and Elizabeth Yun Hwang Endowed Professor
Dept. of Electrical & Computer Engineering
Division of Physical Therapy
Dept. of Rehabilitation Medicine
Dept. of Physiology & Biophysics 
University of Washington

Curriculum Vitae
sarah-mondello3 Sarah Mondello PhD
mondello@uw.edu
Research Faculty
Dept. of Rehabilitation Medicine
http://faculty.washington.edu/mondello/
Sanitta Thongpang Sanitta Thongpang PhD
sanitta@uw.edu
Visiting Scientist
Bioengineering
Mahidol University Thailand
david-bjanes2 David Bjånes MS
dbjanes@uw.edu 
Graduate Student
Electrical Engineering
fatma-inanici Fatma Inanici MD 
finanici@uw.edu
Graduate Student
Rehabilitation Sciences
soshi-samejima Soshi Samejima MS DPT
soshis@uw.edu 
Graduate Student
Rehabilitation Sciences
Nick Tolley web Nicholas Tolley
tolleyn@uw.edu
Research Scientist
Neurobiology and Biochemistry
amanda-fischedick Amanda Fischedick
afisched@uw.edu
Research Scientist
Josh Abecassis2 Josh Abecassis MD
abecassi@uw.edu
Neurological Surgery Resident
Jin Oh web Jin Oh
ohj7@cs.washington.edu
Undergraduate Researcher
Computer Science and Engineering
Sanjana Kanumuri web Sanjana Kanumuri
sanjanak@uw.edu
Undergraduate Researcher
Megan Knoernschild web Megan Knoernschild
megan@seattleweb.com
Undergraduate Researcher
Madison Bravo Madison Bravo
mabravo3@uw.edu
Undergraduate Researcher
Neurobiology
Tian Wang web Tian Wang
tianw6@uw.edu
Undergraduate Researcher
Bioengineering
Lisa Young web Lisa Young
lisa1090@uw.edu
Undergraduate Researcher
Molecular Cellular and Developmental Biology
Rachel Morin-web Rachel Morin
rjmorin@uw.edu
Doctor of Physical Therapy Student Researcher
 Melissa Ling-web Melissa Ling
mel1l1@uw.edu
Doctor of Physical Therapy Student Researcher
Aileen Isakharova-web Aileen Isakharova
aileen4@uw.edu
Doctor of Physical Therapy Student Researcher
Perry Hicks-web Perry Hicks
hicksp@uw.edu
Doctor of Physical Therapy Student Researcher
Jonathan Abarca-web Jonathan Abarca
jabarca@uw.edu
Doctor of Physical Therapy Student Researcher
 Caroline Ko-web Caroline Ko
cko9@uw.edu
Doctor of Physical Therapy Student Researcher
emily-boeschoten Emily Boeschoten
2018 Summer Undergraduate Researcher
Former 2016 CSNE Young Scholars Program (YSP)
Undergraduate Student at University of Oregon
Recent Alumni
Alik Widge Alik Widge MD PhD
awidge@partners.org
Former Psychiatry Resident
Currently Director of Translational NeuroEngineering Laboratory
Division of Neurotherapeutics
Massachusetts General Hospital
Instructor in Psychiatry
Harvard Medical School
Clinical Fellow
Picower Institute for Learning & Memory (MIT)
Elena Donoso Brown_web Elena Donoso Brown OT PhD
donosobrowne@duq.edu
Former Graduate Student
PhD in Rehabilitation Sciences
Currently Assistant Professor
Rangos School of Health Sciences
Occupational Therapy
Duquesne University
anat-lubetzky Anat Lubetzky PT PhD
anat@nyu.edu 
Former Graduate Student
PhD in Rehabilitation Sciences
Currently Assistant Professor
Department of Physical Therapy
New York University
Ryan Solinsky_small Ryan Solinsky MD
ryanjs2@u.washington.edu
Former Rehabilitation Medicine Resident
Currently Assistant Professor at Harvard University
tom-richner2 Tom Richner PhD
richner@uw.edu
Former Postdoctoral Fellow
Bioengineering
Currently Postdoctoral Fellow at University of Minnesota
ivana-milovanovic2 Ivana Milovanovic PhD
ivanamil@uw.edu
Former Postdoctoral Fellow
Electrical Engineering
Charlie Matlack Charlie Matlack PhD
Former Graduate Student in Electrical Engineering
Current CEO of PotaVida
aiva-ievins Aiva Ievins PhD
aiva@uw.edu 
Former Graduate Student in Neuroscience
Currently at Merck KGaA
Sunshine_crop Michael Sunshine
mdsunshi@ufl.edu 
Former Research Scientist 
Current PhD Student
University of Florida
Juhi Farooqui web Juhi Farooqui
Neuroscience Rutgers Univ. 
juhif@uw.edu 
Former CSNE Post-baccalaureate researcher
Abed Khorasani Abed Khorasani PhD
abedkh@uw.edu
Former Visiting Scholar
Biomedical Engineering PhD student
Iran University of Science and Technology
Spencer Boyer web Spencer Boyer MS
Electrical Engineering  
boyer2@uw.edu 
Former Research Scientist
Laura Sandova Laura Sandoval
laura.leticia.sandoval@gmail.com
2017 CSNE Research Experience for Veterans (REV) summer student
Currently undergraduate at San Diego State University
Adrien Boissenin new web Adrien Boissenin
adrien.boissenin93@gmail.com
Former Visiting Scholar
Currently: Project coordinator for the scientific cooperation
France and Australia
Australian Embassy
Ana Garcia_web Ana Garcia
acgc12.06@gmail.com
2018 CSNE Research Experience for Undergraduates (REU)
Southwestern College in San Diego
Maggie Malone web Maggie Malone
maggie@maloneweb.com
Summer student from Gonzaga University in Spokane WA
Clare Prowse web Clare Prowse
clare.prowse@northwestschool.org
High School Science Teacher at The Northwest School
2018 CSNE Research Experience for Teachers (RET)
Shannon Kawamura web Shannon Kawamura
shannon.halliday@highlineschools.org
High School Science Teacher at Mount Rainier High School
2018 CSNE Research Experience for Teachers (RET)
Laura Moore Laura Moore
LMoore@etonschool.org
2017 CSNE Research Experience for Teachers (RET)
Middle School Science Teacher at Eaton School
Adam King Adam King
adam_king@eatonville.wednet.edu
2017 CSNE Research Experience for Teachers (RET)
Middle School Science Teacher at Eatonville Middle School
Reni Magbagbeola web Reni Magbagbeola MS
reni_magbagbeola@yahoo.co.uk 
Former Undergraduate
PhD Student in Robotics and Computation
University College London
Oliver Stanley Oliver Stanley
orileystanley@gmail.com
Former Undergraduate Researcher
Currently PhD student in Bioengineering at Johns Hopkins
Alice_small Alice Bosma-Moody
aliceb16@uw.edu 
Former Undergraduate Researcher
Currently Researcher at Allen Institute for Brain Sciences
Cooper Mellema crop Cooper Mellema
cprmellema@comcast.net 
FormerUWIN Postbaccalaureate Researcher
Currently MD/PHD student at UT Southwestern in Dallas
KyleMarkWeb Kyle Mark
kmark830@uw.edu 
Doctor of Physical Therapy Student
Comron Ganji Comron Ganji
comronganji@gmail.com 
Former Undergraduate Researcher 
Current Medical Student 
George Washington University
Anna Pendelton crop Anna Pendelton
annape247@gmail.com 
Former Undergraduate Researcher
Processed with VSCO with b1 preset Josie D'Angelo
hyderj@uw.edu 
Former Undergraduate Researcher
Neurobiology
Jan Jimenez Jan Jimenez
ncjaks1993@hotmail.com
Former Undergraduate Researcher
Art and Philosophy
Chelsea Nayan web Chelsea Nayan
cnayan@uw.edu 
Former Undergraduate Researcher
Neurobiology
ben-pedigo Ben Pedigo
bpedigo@uw.edu 
Former Undergraduate Researcher
Current Graduate Student at Johns Hopkins University
Jess Feeman web Jess Feeman
jfeeman@uw.edu 
Undergraduate Researcher
Neurobiology pre-major
Annamarie Lahti Annamarie Lahti
acl97@uw.edu
Undergraduate Researcher
Biology
Victoria Dahl web Victoria Dahl
vadahl@uw.edu
Undergraduate Researcher
Chemical Engineering
Ryan Kelly_web Ryan Kelly
ryankelly2441@gmail.com 
Former Undergraduate Researcher
Bioengineering
amanda-nguyen Amanda Nguyen 
2016 CSNE Young Scholars Program (YSP)
Currently Undergraduate Student at University of Washington
Processed with VSCOcam with m3 preset Winter Beaton
2016 CSNE Research Experience for Undergraduates (REU) 
Currently Undergraduate Student at Spelman College
thien-nguyen Thien Nguyen 
2016 CSNE Young Scholars Program (YSP)
Currently Undergraduate Student at University of Washington
Kasten_sharpened Mike Kasten PhD
Former Research Scientist
Current Postdoctoral Fellow
Dept of Otolaryngology
University of North Carolina Chapel Hill
amber_from_ebone_crop Amber Fechko
Research Scientist
Currently at SpaceX
Eric Secrist2 Eric Secrist MD 
Former Undergraduate Researcher
Currently an orthopedic surgery resident
Carolinas Medical Center in Charlotte
North Carolina Medical College
Benny Habibi Benny Habibi
Medical Student at Case Western Reserve University
Ebone Monk Ebone Monk
2014 Summer CSNE REU Student
Currently at Spelman College
Jonathan Deshields Jonathan DeShields
2014 Summer CSNE REU Student
Currently at Morehouse College
david_boe David Boe
Former Undergraduate Researcher
Current graduate student in Prosthetics & Orthotics
University of Washington
Sam Dreyer_smaller Sam Dreyer
2015 CSNE REV Student
Currently studying bioengineering at University of Illinois at Chicago
Sadie Morris crop Sadie Morris
Highschool Intern
Lakeside Highschool
Ryan Carlson Ryan Carlson
ryan.carlson@nih.gov 
Former Undergraduate Researcher
Current student at University of Washington Medical School
Eliza Baird Daniel web Eliza Baird-Daniel
High School Intern
Graduate of Cornell University
Nile Wilson web Nile Wilson
Bioengineering Graduate Student
University of Washington
Lily Orith Smith web Lily Orth Smith
2015 UWIN Highschool summer student
Currently Undergraduate student at Wellesley College
 Lucas Fiebig web Lucas Fiebig
2015 CSNE Young Scholars Program (YSP)
Currently Undergraduate at University of Washington
Alison Farrel web Alison Farrell
2015 CSNE Research Experience for Teachers (RET)
The Attic Learning Community
Ben Hart web Benjamin Hart
2015 CSNE Research Experience for Teachers (RET)
Redmond High School
Frances Cho web Frances Cho PhC
Former 2013 CSNE Summer REU
Currently PhD student at University of California San Francisco
kendra-cherry Kendra Cherry DPT PhD 
Former Undergraduate Researcher
Currently Postdoctoral Research Fellow in the Department of Physical Medicine and Rehabilitation at Johns Hopkins University