SAFS Newsletter Masthead

Awards & Honors, 2014–2015


Degree track and faculty advisers in parentheses

Emily Davis (MS, Schindler) was runner-up for the Best Student Oral Presentation at the Joint Aquatic Sciences Meeting for her talk, “Wildfire impacts on stream metabolism across gradients of space, time, and fire severity in an Idaho wilderness watershed.”

Susie Dobkins (BS) was awarded a Mary Gates Leadership Scholarship, which encourages undergraduate students to develop their leadership abilities through practical experience, personal reflection, and in community with mentors and peers. She also obtained a Jackson Munro Public Service Fellowship/ Scholarship for her involvement in public service.

Ava Fuller (MS, VanBlaricom) obtained an NSF Graduate Research Fellowship.

Jessica Hale (MS, Laidre) obtained a Dr. Nancy Foster Scholarship from NOAA. She also won the best poster award for her talk “How will sea otter diet change as population size and range increase?” at the 18th Annual Meeting of the Northwest Student Chapter of the Society for Marine Mammalogy.

Peter Kuriyama (MS, Branch) was awarded a NMFS/Sea Grant Population and Ecosystem Dynamics Fellowship.

Meryl Mims (PhD, Olden) and Charlie Waters (MS, Naish) each received a College of the Environment Hall Conservation Genetics Research Award.

Nirupam Nigam (BS) netted The Ellie Dorsey Award through the Friday Harbor Laboratory.

Mark Sorel (MS, Beauchamp) obtained the David Lamb Memorial Scholarship from the Washington State Lake Protection Association for his work on food-web implications of reintroducing Chinook and coho salmon, and steelhead trout above three hydroelectric dams on the North Fork Lewis River.

Erika Sutherland (MS, Olden) obtained an Anchor QEA Scholarship as well as a Northwest Climate Science Center Fellowship.

Carolyn Tarpey (MS, Seeb L) and Ryan Waples (MS, Seeb L) were awarded scholarships from the Summer Institute of Statistical Genetics.

Ryan Waples (MS, Seeb L) obtained the James E. Wright Graduate Award from the American Fisheries Society.

Chantel Wetzel (PhD, Punt) was a member of a NOAA research group that was awarded a Department of Commerce Gold Medal for developing an innovative method that triples the number of high-quality stock assessments and increases allowable catch limits for fishermen.


Julian Olden was awarded an Aldo Leopold Leadership Fellowship. He is one of only 20 researchers worldwide to receive this unique opportunity to enhance his leadership skills in translating science into action.

André Punt was elected to Washington State Academy of Sciences. André joins SAFS faculty members Ray Hilborn, Ted Pietsch, and Tom Quinn as members of the Academy.

Daniel Schindler was the 2015 recipient of the Frank Rigler Award, which is the highest honor bestowed by the Society of Canadian Limnologists.