AMTAS

Home | Contact Us
FAA Centers of Excellence | Academic Partners | Industry Partners | Faculty | Students
Active Projects | Completed Projects | Intellectual Property
Workforce Education Needs | Credit Courses | Short Courses | Computer Programs
Calendar | Details
Presentations | Conference Proceedings | Reports | Wing Model
News from AMTAS | AMTAS in the News | AMTAS Partners in the News

About Us

AMTAS Faculty

The following faculty members have research programs that focus on composites, bonding, life management of materials, and other advanced materials and processes.

Name Univ/Dept Expertise E-mail
Raj Bordia, Ph.D. UW Dept. of Materials Science & Engineering Processing and mechanical properties of ceramics, ceramic films and coatings, polymers and composites bordia@u.washington.edu
K. Bhagwan Das, Ph.D. UW Dept. of Materials Science & Engineering Rapid solidification rate alloys, metal matrix composites, hydrogen embrittlement, stress-corrosion cracking kbdas@u.washington.edu
Ashley Emery, Ph.D. UW Dept. of Mechanical Engineering Architectural heat transfer, finite element methods, numerical analysis, and thermal stresses emery@u.washington.edu
Brian Fabien, Ph.D. UW Dept. of Mechanical Engineering Dynamic response and optimal design of composite structures fabien@u.washington.edu
Paolo Feraboli, Ph.D. UW Dept. of Aeronautics and Astronautics Aircraft safety and certification, composite damage resistance and tolerance, test methods development, lightweight structure design feraboli@aa.washington.edu
Brian Flinn, Ph.D. UW Dept. of Materials Science & Engineering Processing-structure-property relationships of advanced structural materials bflinn@u.washington.edu
Bradley Holt, Ph.D. UW Dept. of Chemical Engineering Process design and control holt@cheme.washington.edu
Kuen Lin, Ph.D. UW Dept. of Aeronautics and Astronautics Composite materials, finite element methods, fracture mechanics, solid mechanics, structural analysis lin@aa.washington.edu
Eli Livne, Ph.D.

UW Dept. of Aeronautics and Astronautics Aeroelasticity, aeroservoelasticity, multidisciplinary optimization, airplane design optimization, controls synthesis eli@aa.washington.edu
Fumio Ohuchi, Ph.D.

UW Dept. of Materials Science & Engineering Nucleation and growth of thin films, surface and interface of electronic materials, physics and chemistry of layered materials, nanostructures ohuchi@u.washington.edu
M. Ramulu, Ph.D.

UW Dept. of Mechanical Engineering Mechanics of materials, fracture mechanics, fatigue, and advanced manufacturing processes ramulu@me.washington.edu
Minoru Taya, Ph.D. UW Dept. of Mechanical Engineering Electronic packaging and composites, and smart materials tayam@u.washington.edu
Mark Tuttle, Ph.D.

UW Dept. of Mechanical Engineering Applied solid mechanics, viscoelasticity, composite materials, and adhesion mechanics tuttle@u.washington.edu
Lloyd Smith, Ph.D.

WSU School of Mechanical & Materials Engineering Damage, durability and characterization of composite materials; processing science of laminated, textile and randomly oriented polymeric composites smith@mme.wsu.edu
Timothy Kennedy, Ph.D.

OSU Dept. of Mechanical Engineering Fracture mechanics, composite materials, finite element modeling, and applications of generalized continuum theories kennedy@engr.orst.edu
John Parmigiani, Ph.D.

OSU Dept. of Mechanical Engineering Fracture mechanics, composite materials, finite element modeling, and applications of generalized continuum theories parmigjo@engr.orst.edu
Charles Seaton

EdCC Materials & Process Development Center Management and technology of manufacturing with composite materials charles.seaton@edcc.edu
Richard Burton, M.S.M.E.

FIU Applied Research Center Aging aircraft maintenance, binary-material processing, systems engineering Richard.Burton@arc.fiu.edu
Dwayne McDaniel, Ph.D. FIU Applied Research Center Structural mechanics, structural analysis and composites Dwayne.McDaniel@arc.fiu.edu
Rajiv Srivastava, Ph.D. FIU Applied Research Center Characterization, composites aging and degradation, degassing health effects and toxicity Rajiv.Srivastava@arc.fiu.edu
Weihua Zhang, Ph.D FIU Applied Research Center Analytical & bioanalytical method development, contaminant characterization, analysis and fate, and phytoremediation Weihua.Zhang@arc.fiu.edu
Xiangyang Zhou, Ph.D. University of Miami Material degradation, corrosion, fracture, and electrochemical sensors xzhou@miami.edu
Dan Adams, Ph.D.

Utah Dept. of Mechanical Engineering Mechanics of composite materials, damage mechanics, micromechanics adams@mech.utah.edu

UW = University of Washington
WSU = Washington State University
OSU = Oregon State University
EdCC = Edmonds Community College
FIU = Florida International University
Utah = University of Utah

FAA Home | FAA Centers of Excellence | Site Map | Privacy Policy | ©2004–2014 AMTAS