SAFS Newsletter Masthead

Awards & Honors


Audrey Djunaedi was named Udall Scholar for 2010 by the Morris K. and Stewart L. Udall Foundation. The award supports sophomores and juniors who are committed to careers related to the environment, tribal public policy, or Native American health care. Audrey also participated in the SAFS Departmental Honors program, received multiple SAFS scholarships, and was selected as a NOAA Ernest F. Hollings Scholar.

Mary Gates Awards

Sasha Troiano and Rachel Thompson were awarded Mary Gates Scholarships, which help fund undergraduate research. Recipients present their research at the UW Undergraduate Symposium. Sasha presented a poster on “Exposure of shiner perch to carbaryl following applications to control burrowing shrimp;” Rachel’s poster was focused on “Ocean acidification and the general stress response of the oyster Crassostrea gigas.”

In addition, several SAFS students received Mary Gates awards through their participation in research, apprenticeships, and courses at the Friday Harbor Labs: AnneMarie (Kaza) Ansley, Jeff Benca, Lauren Colpo, Sean Luis, Katherine Stanton, and Rebecca Stombaugh. Joel Kramer was granted a Mary Gates Leadership Award, which helps students devote time to developing leadership skills.

Graduate Students

Degree track and faculty advisers in parentheses.

Bethany Craig (MS, Simenstad) was one of three UW students awarded a Dean John A. Knauss Marine Policy Fellowship for 2011. This fellowship enables graduate students to work for one year on the staff of the US Congress or with a federal agency that addresses marine issues.

Matt Smith (MS, L Seeb) netted the Best Student Paper award at the SNP Workshop III sponsored by the American Fisheries Society, Genetics Section. His paper was titled “Multiplex pre-amplification and SNP genotyping of sockeye salmon (Oncorhynchus nerka) scales: a forty-five year retrospective of catch compositions in Bristol Bay.”

Eric Larson (PhD, Olden) was awarded the William Trachtenberg Memorial Scholarship, sponsored by the Sustainable Fisheries Foundation and the American Fisheries Society Western Division. The scholarship supports students studying fisheries sustainability.

Steve Barbeaux (PhD, Horne) won Best Oral Presentation– PhD Level at the Alaska Marine Science Symposium, Anchorage, for his talk, “Using cooperative acoustic surveys to manage small-scale fisheries in sensitive habitat: Aleutian Islands cooperative acoustic survey studies.”

Lisa Crosson (MS, Friedman) hooked the Best Student Presentation award at the 64th Annual Shellfish Conference and Tradeshow, sponsored by the National Shellfisheries Association and Pacific Coast Shellfish Growers Association. Her talk was titled “Influence of rickettsial pathogens on endangered black abalone: differential susceptibility and host response.”

Rachel Arnold (PhD, Pietsch) was awarded the Ernst Mayr Travel Grant by the Museum of Comparative Zoology, Harvard University. This award funds travel and expenses for students conducting animal systematics research at museums.

Aaron Galloway (PhD, Duggins/Summers [Friday Harbor Labs]) was awarded the American Academy of Underwater Sciences’ Kathy Johnston Scholarship for PhD students. This award will fund a portion of his doctoral research, which involves algae collection and extraction of fatty acids from algae.


Last summer, Loveday Conquest became the first recipient of the College of the Environment’s Outstanding Teaching Faculty Award. She was recognized for her devotion to quality training in quantitative science and her efforts and creativity in teaching subjects critical in the training of natural resource professionals and environmental scientists.

Ray Hilborn, Ted Pietsch, and Tom Quinn were elected to the Washington State Academy of Sciences. The Academy provides expert scientific and engineering analysis to inform public policy-making, and works to increase the role and visibility of science in the state of Washington. Quinn was also honored by the American Fisheries Society with the Excellence in Fisheries Education Award in recognition of his years of outstanding teaching and advising.


Photos: © 2011