ACES: Association of Chemical Engineering Graduate Students

2019 Distinguished Young Scholars Seminars

Congratulations to DYSS 2019 winners, Brian Aguado and Lisa R. Volpatti!

Thank you for your support and attendance for this years DYSS event, please keep an eye out for 2020 DYSS announcements.

About the Event

The Distinguished Young Scholars Seminar is an opportunity for students who are near completion of their doctorate (within 6 months) and postdoctoral scholars to present a one hour seminar on their research alongside other rising stars in their fields. The DYSS summer series is currently in its 9th year and is nationally recognized for expanding the opportunity for young researchers to present on their work and jump-start their careers. Eight scholars will be chosen to fly to the University of Washington to meet and present to UW professors and graduate students, and may be chosen to receive a $500 cash prize. Applications for the 2019 seminar series are still open and decisions will be finalized early June.

Schedule and Location

The speakers have been selected and the schedule has been set! All of the seminars will be given at the University of Washington.

Date Speaker and Lecture Title
July 1 Chris Bartel Ph.D.
Postdoctoral Scholar, UC-Berkeley and Lawrence Berkeley National Lab
Predictive descriptors for the stability of new solid-state materials
July 8 Matthew Crane, Ph.D.
Washington Research Foundation Postdoctoral Fellow, University of Washington
A two-pronged approach for engineering luminescent defects in nanomaterials
July 15 Amber Hubbard,
Graduate Student, North Carolina State University
Stimuli-responsive polymers
July 22 Jeffrey Lopez, Ph.D.
Intelligence Community Postdoctoral Fellow, Massachusetts Institute of Technology
Understanding and design of polymer materials for stabilizing high capacity silicon and lithium metal anodes
July 29 Margaret Fettis
Postdoctoral Researcher, Georgia Institute of Technology
A sweet solution: advancing the sugar binding protein Galectin-1 as an immunotherapeutic
August 5 Leslie Hamachi, Ph.D.
Postdoctoral Research Fellow, Northwestern University
Control over cadmium chalcogenide nanocrystal heterostructures via precursor conversion kinetics
August 12 Brian Aguado, Ph.D.
NIH and Burroughs Wellcome Fund Postdoctoral Fellow, University of Colorado, Boulder
Precision biomaterial platforms to probe myofibroblast activation
August 19 Lisa R. Volpatti
Graduate Student, Massachusetts Institute of Technology
Developing smart insulin delivery systems on timescales ranging from hours to weeks

Apply Now!

Applications are currently closed, keep an eye on the DYSS webiste for notice to apply for the 2020 DYSS series.

Further Questions?

More information on the event and the previous speakers can be found in the ACES records or on the DYSS website. Any questions can also be emailed to!