• August 02, 2017

    PacTrans PI Kevin Chang Wins UI Outstanding Young Faculty Award

    Kevin Chang, Ph.D., P.E., received the Outstanding Young Faculty Award at the University of Idaho’s College of Engineering Annual Awards Ceremony on May 12, 2017.  This award recognized a full-time non-tenured faculty member who has shown outstanding teaching, research, and service in the college.

    Chang joined the University of Idaho in 2013. Prior to his current position, he was a traffic engineer with the King County Department of Transportation in Seattle, Wash. where he managed the day-to-day operations of the King County Traffic Management Center and supervised the School Safety Program. Chang obtained his undergraduate and graduate degrees in civil engineering, with an emphasis in transportation engineering, from the University of Washington.

    His research areas focus on traffic safety and operations, transportation security and transportation education, outreach and workforce development. Chang has secured over $2 million in research funding for the university and has graduated four master’s degree students. Chang is a member of the Transportation Research Board’s (TRB) Safety Management Committee, chair of the TRB School Transportation Subcommittee and past chair of the Institute of Transportation Engineers’ (ITE) Transportation Education Committee. He has served as conference chair for the American Society of Civil Engineers’ (ASCE) Regional Student Conference, the University of Idaho’s Cyber Security Symposium and the PacTrans Regional Transportation Conference. Chang has extensive experience in workforce development and has led multiple national transportation engineering webinars for ASCE.

    A two-time University of Idaho Alumni Awards for Excellence recipient, Chang is the faculty advisor for the University of Idaho’s ASCE and Institute of Transportation Engineers (ITE) student chapters. He was awarded the Outstanding Educator Award by the ITE’s Western District in 2016. Outside of work, Chang serves on the board of directors for the Washington State Golf Association.