• December 12, 2022

    PacTrans Student Researcher from OSU receives Eisenhower Fellowship

    OSU graduate student and PacTrans student researcher, Brian Staes, received a Dwight David Eisenhower Transportation Fellowship Program (DDETFP) award this year.

    Staes’ research looks at transportation from a human mobility perspective, examining how people evacuate areas threatened by natural hazards, such as tsunamis, hurricanes, and wildfires. While primarily focusing on pedestrians, he also studies highway systems during evacuations. He earned his bachelor’s in civil engineering from Florida Gulf Coast University and joined the American Society of Civil Engineers. He was also last year’s recipient of the  PacTrans Michael Kyte Region 10 Outstanding Student of the Year award.

    “The Dwight David Eisenhower Transportation Fellowship Program (DDETFP) awards fellowships to students pursuing degrees in transportation-related disciplines. This program advances the transportation workforce by helping to attract the nation’s brightest minds to the field of transportation, encouraging future transportation professionals to seek advanced degrees, and helping to retain top talent in the U.S. transportation industry.

    From its initial support of graduate research fellowships in 1983, to the current program’s inception in the Intermodal Surface Transportation Efficiency Act of 1991, the DDETFP has awarded over $50 million to the brightest minds in the transportation industry. From this investment, fellows have pushed for innovative change in multimodal areas from highway infrastructure to aviation to maritime, making the industry more effective and efficient. Fellows pursue careers in academia, private industry, and public service, becoming leaders across the nation.”