• April 14, 2017

    Two PacTrans Students Honored at CUTC Award Banquet

    Each year, on the Saturday before the Transportation Research Board’s (TRB) Annual Meeting, the Council of University Transportation Centers (CUTC) hosts an annual awards banquet to honor students and faculty across the transportation field. This year, the 2017 Annual Awards Banquet was held on January 7, at the Marriott Marquis Hotel in Washington, D.C.

    Dr. Beverly Scott, CEO of Beverly Scott and Associates and research associate at the Mineta Transportation Institute at San Jose State University, gave the keynote address. Dr. Scott echoed many of the same sentiments that we heard last year from, then U.S. Secretary of Transportation, Anthony Foxx. Namely, people and communities matter. Transportation systems are a means to enriching people and communities, they are not an end, and they should not be a means to division and further disparity.

    Former U.S. Secretary of Transportation Norman Mineta was also in attendance as an honored guest. More than 50 awards were presented, including student of the year awards, new faculty awards and lifetime achievement awards. Among those awards two PacTrans students received Outstanding Student of the Year Awards: University of Washington PhD student Eric Howard, and Oregon State University student Jason Anderson.

    CUTC, established in 1979, works to advance the state-of-the-art in all modes and disciplines of transportation. Its membership consists of 93 of the nation’s leading university-based transportation centers.