UW Student Film Contest

Film Jury

The Jury for Student Film Contests is usually made up of people from diverse backgrounds such as documentary/independent film makers,  Educators, Engineers, Arts and Humanities and Communication/Media Experts. For 2019, we have the following esteemed experts who have agreed to serve as a member of the jury:

Philip Shane – Documentary Producer, Director and Editor

Philip Shane is an award winning documentary filmmaker with over 25 years of experience. He was Co-Director & Editor of BEING ELMO (Winner of the Special Jury Prize at the 2011 Sundance Film Festival), and Producer & Editor of the two hour feature documentary, EINSTEIN (2008, History Channel). As Editor of DANCING IN JAFFA, which had it’s World Premiere at the 2013 TriBeCa Film Festival, he and Bob Eisenhardt won the Best Editing Award at Israel’s prestigious DocAviv Film Festival. For more information see www.philipshane.com 

Jose Ricardo Garcia – Scriptwriter/Director, Public Relations Department, National Institutes of Standards and Technology (NIST)

José Ricardo García was born and raised in Puerto Rico. He is the lead video writer/director at the National Institute of Standards and Technology. He holds a BFA from NYU’s Tisch School of the Arts and has created numerous short films, music videos, and corporate videos that have been shown in film festivals, online, and live events domestically and internationally. His latest documentary won Best Biography Film at the Tech Doc Fest in Seattle, WA.

Rick Garza – UW Video

Greg Miller, Vice Dean, College of Engineering, University of Washington

Lisa Graumlich – Dean, College of Environment, University of Washington

Ronda Strauch – Northwest Climate Science Center