Enter your username and password below

Not registered yet?   Forgotten your password?

Student Footprints

Students from around the world calculated their class mean and standard deviations for their footprints and posted them on our world map.

Do you see differences across the globe? If so, why do you think those differences exist?

Did you use the calculator to try to reduce your footprint down to the average from a citizen of another country? What changes would you have to make to lower your footprint in this way? Are you going to try and take some of these actions in your daily life?

Student Footprints >

Student footprint

AbbyHelenButler

As a student I think that there are lots of ways that the school could reduce its carbon footprint, as well as every student individually. On of the things that the school does is composting, everyday the composting bucket sits less than 3 inches away from the trash can and countless students still decide to throw their food scraps away. If everyone could take the extra .0001 seconds to move their hand 2 inches from the trash can to the composting bucket then we as a whole could help reduce carbon emissions at school. Another wya that we as students could help is to just simply start to cycle paper and use more scrap paper. Art classes could utilize paper that gets thrown away and repurpose it, individuals could make sure that they use both sides of their notebook paper when they’re taking notes, teachers could start printing on the blank side of papers that have only been used to print on one side. These are all simple things that take near to no actual change in lifestyle but can have a big impact if you add up all of the time that your would’ve been doing this.

LianaTalty