Advisory Committees

The External Advisory Committee, the Global Scientific Advisory Board, and the Internal Advisory Committee provide periodic reviews and recommendations to the CFAR Director and Executive Committee and are instrumental in shaping the overall direction of the organization and its long-term outcomes.

External Advisory Committee

  • James Blanchard, University of Manitoba
  • John T. Brooks, Centers for Disease Control and Prevention
  • Susan Buchbinder, San Francisco Department of Public Health & University of California, San Francisco
  • Victor De Gruttola, Harvard Univeristy
  • Alan Greenberg, George Washington University
  • Marina Klein, McGill University
  • Bryan Lau, Johns Hopkins University
  • Michael Lederman, Case Western Reserve University
  • Ronald Mitsuyasu, University of California at Los Angeles
  • Tom Quinn, Johns Hopkins University
  • Caroline Ryan, CDC Swaziland
  • Michael Saag, University of Alabama at Birmingham
  • Patrick Sullivan, Emory University
  • Rochelle Walensky, Centers for Disease Control and Prevention
  • Joseph Wong, University of California at San Francisco
  • Jerome Zack, University of California at Los Angeles

Global Scientific Advisory Board

  • Elizabeth Bukusi, Co-Chair of Global Scientific Advisory Board, Chief Research Officer, Kenya Medical Research Institute
  • Peter Cherutich, Deputy Director, Medical Services, Ministry of Health
  • Rosa Cuco, National Director for Public Health, Ministry of Health
  • Quinhas Fernandes, Deputy National Director for Public Health, Ministry of Health
  • Elsa Gonzalez Lagos, Investigator, Universidad Peruana Cayetano Heredia
  • Eduardo Gudo, Head, Reference Laboratory Services, Mozambique National Institutes of Health
  • John Kinuthia, Head, Research & Programs, Kenyatta National Hospital
  • Ilesh Jani, Director General, Mozambique National Institutes of Health
  • Javier Lama, Principal Investigator, IMPACTA
  • Noleb Mugisha, Assistant Lecturer, College of Health Sciences, Makerere University
  • Andrew Mujugira, Clinical Epidemiologist and Senior Research Scientist, School of Public Health, Makerere University
  • Nelly Mugo, Principal Research Scientist, Kenya Medical Research Institute
  • Innocent Mutyaba, Medical Officer, Uganda Program on Cancer and Infectious Diseases
  • Nixon Niyonzima, Medical Officer, Uganda Cancer Institute
  • Jorge Sanchez, Investigator, National University of San Marcos
  • Jaime Soria, Attending, Infectious Diseases Specialist, Hospital Nacional Dos de Mayo
  • Heidi van Rooyen, Executive Director of Human and Social Development, Human Sciences Research Council
  • Dalton Wamalwa, Lecturer, Pediatrics, University of Nairobi

Internal Advisory Committee

  • Elizabeth Bukusi, Research Professor, Global Health
  • Richard Catalano, Jr., Professor and Director, Social Development Research Group, School of Social Work, University of Washington
  • Geoff Garnett, Deputy Director, Integrated Delivery, Bill & Melinda Gates Foundation
  • Caroline Harwood, Professor, Microbiology; Associate Vice-Provost for Research, University of Washington
  • James Kublin, Executive Director, HIV Vaccine Trials Network, Fred Hutchinson Cancer Research Center; Clinical Assoc Professor of Global Health, University of Washington
  • W. Conrad Liles, Vice Chair for Research, Department of Medicine, University of Washington
  • Sheila Lukehart, Assistant Dean for Research and Graduate Education, School of Medicine, Univeristy of Washington
  • Julie McElrath, Senior Vice President and Director, Vaccine and Infectious Disease Division, Fred Hutch
  • Julie Overbaugh, Member, Human Biology and Public Health Sciences Divisions, Fred Hutch
  • Ken Stuart, President and Founder, Center for Infectious Disease Research (formerly Seattle Biomed)
  • Judith Wasserheit, Professor of Global Health and Medicine; Chair, Department of Global Health; University of Washington