Members

The Klevit group is dedicated to furthering the human understanding on the complex nature of protein-protein interactions involved in protein quality control and repair. Deleterious mutations in key participants of these intracellular pathways frequently result in the manifestation of cancer, cataracts, myopathy, and many other forms of chronic disease. Members of the Klevit lab are experienced in various biochemical structural techniques, including Circular Dichroism (CD), Solution/Solid-State Nuclear Magnetic Resonance (NMR), Small-Angle X-ray Scattering (SAX), and Analytical Ultra-Centrifugation (AUC). Technical and engineering expertise is also prevalent amongst members of the lab, with many individuals sharing a strong background in computer science and technology.


Rachel E. Klevit
Principal Investigator
Professor of Biochemistry
Professor of Chemistry
klevit@u.washington.edu

NMR; protein structure, protein/protein, protein/DNA interactions.


Peter Brzovic
Research Faculty
brzovic@uw.edu

BRCA1-dependent ubiquitination, NMR


Ponni Rajagopal
Research Scientist
ponjan@uw.edu

Small heat shock protein structure and function. Understanding the structure and mechanism of the deletarious Alpha-B Crystallin mutant, R120G.


Joel Rosenbaum
Post-Doc
joelcr@uw.edu


Alpha-A crystallin, a small heat shock protein abundant in the eye lens.


Lisa Tuttle
Post-Doc
tuttlelm@uw.edu


NMR, protein-protein interactions, transcription regulation, protein structure/dynamics


Mikaela Stewart
Post-Doc
mstew12@uw.edu


Protein function, structure, and dynamics.


Vinayak Vittal
Ph.D Candidate
vvittal@uw.edu


Protein-protein interactions involving BARD1, the heterodimeric partner of BRCA1.


Scott Delbecq
Ph.D Candidate
delbes@u.washington.edu


AlphaB-Crystallin, a small heat-shock protein which acts as a molecular chaperone.


Katja Dove
Ph.D Candidate
kkd5@uw.edu


Structure-function relationship of E2/E3 interactions to understand the underlying mechanisms utilized by specific classes of E3s.


Amanda Clouser
Ph.D Student
aclouser@uw.edu


Hsp27 phosphorylation and pH dependence.


Paul DaRosa
Ph.D Student
darosapa@gmail.com


Interplay between protein PARsylation and ubiquitination


Matt Cook
Ph.D Student
cookjmatt@gmail.com


Interests: ____


Andrew Borst
Research Scientist I
Lab Technician
borsta2@uw.edu


Small Heat-shock protein chaperone activity and quaternary structure organization.


Emily Duncan
Research Scientist I
Lab Technician
emilyd8@uw.edu


Ubiquitination


Hezi Ji
Undergraduate Lab Assistant
hezij@uw.edu

Comments are closed.