Victoria Meadows Named Chair of the Panel on Exoplanets, Astrobiology, and the Solar System for Astro2020 Decadal Survey

UWAB Director and PI for the Virtual Planetary Lab research group, Victoria Meadows, was just announced as the chair of the Panel on Exoplanets, Astrobiology, and the Solar System for the Astro2020 Decadal Survey!

The Decadal Survey on Astronomy and Astrophysics (Astro2020) is a partnership between the National Academies and the astronomical community to identify key priorities in astronomy and astrophysics and develop a comprehensive strategy for agency investments in the upcoming decade.

The survey, sponsored by NASA, NSF, and DOE, will be driven by input from the scientific community and serve as a guide for scientists, policy makers, and federal agencies. The final report will present a broad vision for transformative science at the frontiers of astronomy and astrophysics.

The role of the panel members, in coordination with the steering committee, is to identify and articulate the scientific themes that will define the frontier in research of exoplanets, astrobiology, and the solar system in the 2022-2032 decade.

Further information about this panel may be found on the National Academies Projects and Activities Page

Astro2020: Panel on Exoplanets, Astrobiology, and the Solar System

Victoria S. Meadows, University of Washington, Chair
David Brain, University of Colorado
Ian J. Crossfield, Massachusetts Institute of Technology
Courtney Dressing, University of California, Berfkeley
Jonathan J. Fortney, University of California, Santa Cruz
Tiffany Kataria, Jet Propulsion Laboratory
Kathleen Mandt, Johns Hopkins University Applied Physics Laboaratory
Mark S. Marley, NASA Ames Research Center
Britney E. Schmidt, Georgia Institute of Technology
Christopher C. Stark, Space Telescope Science Institute