Inflammation, Macrovascular and Other Complications of Diabetes

An important focus for a number of Diabetes Research Center affiliate investigators is the relationship between diabetes, lipoproteins, atherosclerosis and inflammation. Many investigators at the University of Washington have a longstanding history of high-quality productivity in clinical, basic, and translational research related to the role of diabetes in dyslipidemias, atherosclerosis and inflammation. These investigators commonly collaborate on individual grants-sponsored research programs and formally work together on several program project grants in this thematic area. Affiliate investigators are funded to study macrovascular disease and inflammation.

Affiliates List

Affiliate Name Institution Department
Beavo, Joseph, Ph.D.
Professor
beavo@uw.edu
University of Washington Pharmacology
Bornfeldt, Karin, Ph.D.
Professor
bornf@uw.edu
University of Washington Medicine (Metabolism, Endocrinology & Nutrition), Pathology
Bremner, William, M.D., Ph.D.
Professor and Chairman
wbremner@uw.edu
University of Washington Medicine
Chait, Alan, M.D.
Professor
achait@uw.edu
University of Washington Medicine (Metabolism, Endocrinology & Nutrition)
Cook, David, Ph.D.
Research Associate Professor
dgcook@uw.edu
University of Washington Medicine (Gerontology and Geriatric Medicine), Pharmacology
Dichek, David, M.D.
Professor
ddichek@uw.edu
University of Washington Medicine (Cardiology)
Duffield, Jeremy, M.D., Ph.D.
Associate Professor
jeremysd@uw.edu
University of Washington Medicine (Nephrology)
Frevert, Charles, D.V.M., Sc.D.
Associate Professor
cfrevert@uw.edu
University of Washington Comparative Medicine, Medicine (Pulmonary Critical Care Medicine)
Giachelli, Cecilia, Ph.D.
Professor
ceci@u.washington.edu
University of Washington Bioengineering
Heinecke, Jay, M.D.
Professor
heinecke@uw.edu
University of Washington Medicine (Metabolism, Endocrinology & Nutrition)
Hoofnagle, Andrew, M.D., Ph.D.
Assistant Professor
ahoof@uw.edu
University of Washington Laboratory Medicine
Kim, Francis, M.D.
Associate Professor
fkim@uw.edu
University of Washington Medicine (Cardiology)
Laflamme, Michael, Ph.D.
Assistant Professor
laflamme@uw.edu
University of Washington Pathology
Leboeuf, Renee, Ph.D.
Professor
leboeuf@uw.edu
University of Washington Medicine (Metabolism, Endocrinology & Nutrition)
MacLellan, Robb, M.D.
Professor
wrmac@u.washington.edu
University of Washington Medicine, Cardiology
Manicone, Anne, M.D.
Assistant Professor
manicone@u.washington.edu
University of Washington Medicine (Pulmonary and Critical Care)
Murry, Charles, M.D., Ph.D.
Professor
murry@uw.edu
University of Washington Pathology/Bioengineering, Medicine (Cardiology)
Okamura, Daryl, M.D.
Assistant Professor
daryl.okamura@seattlechildrens.org
University of Washington, Children’s Hospital Pediatrics (Nephrology)
Oshima, Junko, Ph.D.
Research Associate Professor
picard@uw.edu
University of Washington Pathology
Page, Stephanie, M.D., Ph.D.
Associate Professor
page@uw.edu
University of Washington Medicine (Metabolism, Endocrinology & Nutrition)
Parks, William, Ph.D.
Professor
parksw@uw.edu
University of Washington Medicine (Pulmonary and Critical Care)
Raines, Elaine, Ph.D.
Research Professor
ewraines@uw.edu
University of Washington Pathology
Ramsey, Bonnie, M.D.
Professor
bramsey@uw.edu
University of Washington, Children’s Hospital Pediatrics
Shao, Baohai, Ph.D.
Research Assistant Professor
bhshao@uw.edu
University of Washington Medicine (Metabolism, Endocrinology & Nutrition)
Sobel, Michael, M.D., FACS
Professor
sobelm@uw.edu
University of Washington Surgery
Speer, Yangfeng (Mei), Ph.D.
Research Assistant Professor
yfwang@uw.edu
University of Washington Bioengineering
Subramanian, Savitha, M.D.
Assistant Professor
ssubrama@uw.edu
University of Washington Medicine (Metabolism, Endocrinology & Nutrition)
Vaisar, Tomas, Ph.D.
Research Assistant Professor
tvaisar@uw.edu
University of Washington Medicine (Metabolism, Endocrinology & Nutrition)
Vuletic, Simona, M.D.
Research Assistant Professor
simona@uw.edu
University of Washington Medicine (Metabolism, Endocrinology & Nutrition)
Wang, Wang, M.D., Ph.D.
Assistant Professor
wangwang@uw.edu
University of Washington Anesthesiology
Wessells, Hunter, M.D.
Professor
wessells@uw.edu
University of Washington Urology
Wight, Thomas, Ph.D.
Professor
twight@benaroyaresearch.org
Hope Heart Matrix Biology Program, Benaroya Research Institute, University of Washington Pathology

If the DRC has supported your research in any way, please support us by citing the DRC grant number P30DK017047 in the acknowledgment section of your publications.

DRC Administrative Office, University of Washington Box 358285 | Phone: 206 764-2688 | FAX: 206 764-2693 | DERC@u.washington.edu

Copyright © 2012 University of Washington Diabetes Research Center Web Design by Blank Space