Usha Varanasi receives the Seattle Aquarium Conservation Research Award

Usha Varanasi, Affiliate Professor of Chemistry and Director of the Northwest Fisheries Science Center, was recently presented the Seattle Aquarium Conservation Research Award.  The award is presented by the Seattle Aquarium Society Board of Directors and a research grant is made to the Seattle Aquarium Research Center for Conservation and Husbandry (SEARCCH) in the name of the honoree.  This year, the Seattle Aquarium Society chose to honor Dr. Varanasi for her efforts and achievements related to her work on ocean acidification and the study of toxins and chemicals and their effect on the marine environment.

For more information about Dr. Varanasi and her work, please visit

UW graduate Dr. Jason Farmer selected for Distinguished Dissertation

Chemistry alumnus Dr. Jason A. Farmer’s dissertation, “Direct Measurements of Chemical Bonding at Solid Surfaces using a Unique Calorimetric Method: Towards Understanding Surface Chemistry in Energy Technologies,” was selected by the University of Washington Graduate School as the University’s nomination for the 2010 CGS/UMI Distinguished Dissertation Award in Mathematics, Physical Sciences, and Engineering. Dr. Farmer’s dissertation now enters the nation-wide competition administered by the Council of Graduate Schools. The award is based on “original work making an unusually significant contribution to the discipline.” Dr. Farmer, who conducted his graduate work with Professor Charles Campbell, is also the first author on a paper that recently appeared in Science. Congratulations Dr. Farmer!

To read the abstract for Dr. Farmer’s recent publication (“Ceria Maintains Smaller Metal Catalyst Particles by Strong Metal-Support Bonding”), please see the Science article.

For more information about Professor Campbell and his research, please visit his faculty page or research group website.

Chemistry department recognizes new graduates

Recent chemistry graduatesOn Friday June 11, in the Husky Union Building, nearly 1000 students and their friends and family gathered to honor students who received bachelors and Ph.D. degrees in chemistry and biochemistry. About 150 undergrads received graduation recognition certificates, as did about 15 Ph.D. recipients. The guest speaker for the ceremony was Dr. Susan Solomon of the National Oceanic and Atmospheric Administration in Boulder, Colorado. Dr. Solomon is a world-renowned atmospheric scientist, member of the National Academy of Sciences, and recipient of the National Medal of Science. She described some of the history of the Antarctic ozone hole, emphasizing the importance of individual contributors to the scientific enterprise.

Nearly 300 undergraduate students per year earn a bachelor’s degree in chemistry or biochemistry, making UW Chemistry the largest producer of these degrees in the U.S.

Related Links:

Information about Dr. Susan Solomon

Alumnus Bruce Montgomery receives Inventor of the Year Award

Montgomery_Hopkins_InvYrAwardDr. Bruce Montgomery was awarded the 2009 Special Honoree Inventor of the Year Award at the UW Medicine’s Fifth Annual Inventor of the Year Award Celebration on October 26, 2009.  Dr. Montgomery is Gilead Sciences’ senior vice president and head of Respiratory Therapeutics. He was honored in conjunction with two professors of pediatrics at UW – Drs. Bonnie Ramsey and Arnold Smith – for their development of TOBI, an aerosol version of tobramycin to treat Pseudomonas aeruginosas, an often fatal respiratory infection in patients with cystic fibrosis.

Dr. Montgomery received his Bachelor of Science degree in Chemistry with highest honors in 1975. While in the Department, he worked with Emeritus Professor and Vice Provost for Research Alvin Kwiram.  He subsequently earned an M.D. from the UW. Montgomery has a long history of contribution in biotechnology sector.  He and his spouse Joanne have been generous supporters of the Department of Chemistry. We congratulate Dr. Montgomery on this great honor!

UW News Press Release