Open Tenure-Track Faculty Positions in Chemistry

Applications are invited for two or more full-time, tenure-track appointments in the Department of Chemistry. Outstanding candidates in all areas of chemistry and interdisciplinary areas involving chemistry are encouraged to apply. Appointments at the Assistant level are anticipated; appointment at the Associate level will be considered for exceptional candidates. University of Washington faculty members engage in teaching, research, and service. Successful candidates will be expected to participate in undergraduate and graduate teaching and to develop innovative, vigorous, externally-funded research programs. Applicants must have a Ph.D. or equivalent degree by date of appointment. Please submit a curriculum vitae, statement of future research interests, and (at the Assistant Professor rank) three letters of reference online at Priority will be given to applications received by October 5, 2012. All other inquiries should be directed to The University of Washington is an affirmative action, equal opportunity employer. The University is building a culturally diverse faculty and strongly encourages applications from female and minority candidates.

Three chemistry faculty elected to Washington State Academy of Sciences

Three UW Department of Chemistry faculty members are among the 37 new members elected to the Washington State Academy of Sciences in recognition of their distinguished and continuing scientific achievements. The Washington State Academy of Sciences provides expert scientific and engineering analysis to inform public policy-making, and works to increase the role and visibility of science in the State of Washington. The new members will be inducted into the WSAS at the fifth annual meeting at the Museum of Flight in Seattle, WA on September 20.

The newly-elected chemistry faculty are:

  • Larry Dalton, B. Seymour Rabinovitch Chair in Chemistry.
  • Michael Gelb, Harry and Catherine Jaynne Boand Endowed Professor of Chemistry and Professor of Biochemistry
  • Karen Goldberg, Nicole A. Boand Endowed Professor of Chemistry and Director, Center for Enabling New Technologies through Catalysis.

Click to learn more about the Washington State Academy of Sciences.