David Masiello selected for the ACS Outstanding Junior Faculty Award in Computational Chemistry

MasielloThe Computers in Chemistry Division of the American
Chemical Society has awarded Assistant Professor David Masiello the ACS COMP OpenEye Outstanding Junior Faculty Award. His work will be presented at the 2013 Fall ACS meeting in Indianapolis and is titled “Elucidating the
Signatures of Fano Interferences in Electron Energy-Loss and Cathodoluminescence Spectroscopies via Multiscale Electrodynamics Simulations”. The award is presented to up to four outstanding tenure-track junior faculty members based on the novelty and importance of their research. The award aims to assist new faculty members in gaining visibility within the computers in chemistry community.

To learn more about Professor Masiello and his research, please visit his faculty page and research group site.

Karen Goldberg receives Hopkins Faculty Award

GoldbergProfessor Karen Goldberg, Nicole A. Boand Endowed Professor of Chemistry and Director of the Center for Enabling New Technologies through Catalysis received the 2012 Hopkins Award and, on March 15, delivered the award lecture titled “Collaboration in Chemistry: Growing the Center for Enabling New Technologies through Catalysis (CENTC), the first NSF Center for Chemical Innovation”. The presentation described Professor Goldberg’s experiences transitioning from a primarily sole-investigator research program to becoming a part of a large-scale multi-investigator collaborative effort to solve big problems in chemistry.

The Paul B. Hopkins Endowed Faculty Award is awarded to a member of the Department of Chemistry faculty to honor outstanding achievement in any area of professional responsibility. The award was established through an endowment from Emeritus Professor B. S. Rabinovitch and awardees are selected by a committee of faculty members.  Unlike typical awards, usually given by professional societies or within specific fields of chemistry, the Hopkins Award is given by UW Chemistry faculty to their colleagues for outstanding achievement.  Previous Hopkins Award recipients are: James M. Mayer, Frantisek Tureček, Charles T. Campbell, and Alvin L. Kwiram.