Jasmine Bryant promoted to Senior Lecturer

Bryant Headshot_SquareThe Department of Chemistry congratulates Lecturer Jasmine Bryant on her promotion to Senior Lecturer, effective September 16, 2016.

Dr. Bryant joined the regular faculty of the Department of Chemistry as Lecturer in Autumn 2012, though she has previously contributed to the Department in both instructional and administrative capacities. She is unusually versatile as an instructor, successfully teaching large lecture courses in 100-level introductory general chemistry and 200-level sophomore organic chemistry, as well as 300-level inorganic chemistry lecture and laboratory courses. For her efforts to incorporate innovative technology in the classroom to enhance student learning and engagement, Dr. Bryant was one of four Chemistry team members to receive the 2015 Distinguished Teaching Award for Innovation with Technology.


Chemistry Team receives 2015 Distinguished Teaching Award for Innovation with Technology

boydston_bryant_craig_stoll_group 2A team of four Chemistry faculty members was awarded the 2015 Distinguished Teaching Award for Innovation with Technology. Lecturers Jasmine Bryant and Colleen Craig and Assistant Professors AJ Boydston and Stefan Stoll were jointly recognized for their innovative use of technology in our instructional program. They will be honored with other 2015 Awards of Excellence recipients at a public ceremony on Thursday, June 11, at 3:30 pm in Meany Hall.

While the team members have each worked to improve student learning through technology in their individual courses, the overall impact has been broad. Their courses cover the range in our curriculum, from large undergraduate lecture courses in introductory general chemistry (Bryant, Craig) and organic chemistry (Boydston, Bryant) up to courses for our senior majors and graduate students (Stoll). Within Chemistry, the team serves as a resource for our faculty, piloting and vetting new technologies, advising our faculty on how best to adopt these technologies, generating a repository of modules, video mini-lectures, and tutorials shared among faculty, and making major contributions to curricular redesign. They have lowered the barrier for other faculty to make changes in their teaching, facilitating peer learning among colleagues in Chemistry as well as in other departments across campus. The efforts of all four are appreciated by the thousands of students they teach each year, who consistently reward their efforts with outstanding student course evaluation ratings.

Team members have been recognized for their experience and expertise in teaching at the local and national level. Bryant and Craig have participated in the Cottrell Scholars Collaborative National Teaching Assistant Workshop as well as a variety of teaching and learning initiatives at the UW, and Bryant received the 2013 “Most Engaging Lecturer” Award from the UW Panhellenic Association & Interfraternity Council. The Research Corporation for Science Advancement has honored Boydston (2014) and Stoll (2015) with the Cottrell Scholar Award, which recognizes 10-15 innovative early career teacher-scholars in chemistry, physics and astronomy at U.S. institutions.

The University of Washington established the Distinguished Teaching Award in 1970 and five are given annually to faculty members from the Seattle campus. Recipients are chosen based on a variety of criteria, including mastery of the subject matter; enthusiasm and innovation in the teaching and learning process and in course and curriculum design; to inspire, guide, and mentor students through independent and creative thinking; and mentoring other faculty and teaching assistants to help enrich the scholarship of teaching and learning. Faculty members in Seattle who receive the Distinguished Teaching Awards are inducted into the UW Teaching Academy, where they will be able to participate in a variety of Academy-sponsored projects and events to further excellence in the teaching and learning process at the UW.

Boydston, Bryant, Craig, and Stoll will be honored with the other 2015 Awards of Excellence recipients at a public ceremony on Thursday, June 11, at 3:30 pm in Meany Hall. For more information about the 2015 Awards of Excellence, which honor UW achievements in teaching, mentoring, public service, and staff support, please visit the Awards of Excellence website.

Two New Lecturers in Chemistry

We are delighted to welcome Dr. Jasmine Bryant and Dr. Colleen Craig to the Department of Chemistry as new lecturers. Enrollment in the chemistry courses is at an all-time high. As a result, the Department of Chemistry conducted a national search for additional instructional staff to ensure students have access to chemistry courses.

Dr. Bryant received her undergraduate degree in chemistry from the California Institute of Technology, her Master’s in Teaching from Seattle University, and her PhD in inorganic chemistry at the University of Washington, working with Prof. James Mayer. She has been at the UW in several roles since 2002, most recently as the Director of Communications for the Center for Enabling New Technologies through Catalysis and as a temporary instructor in general chemistry and inorganic chemistry.

Dr. Craig received her undergraduate degree at the University of Colorado, Denver Campus, and her PhD in physical chemistry at the University of Washington, working with Prof. Oleg Prezhdo. She has taught general chemistry classes at UW as a temporary instructor for the past two years, as well as at Seattle Central Community College for three years starting in 2008. Since spring 2011, Dr. Craig has worked with UW in the High School to develop a version of CHEM 110 (Introduction to General Chemistry) for delivery in Washington State high schools. In addition to teaching, Dr. Craig has also worked as a content developer for WH Freeman, and has participated in several chemistry advisory boards, including for McGraw Hill and WebAssign.

Drs. Bryant and Craig join Dr. Andrea Carroll (below) as lecturers.