Department of Chemistry News


September 22, 2017

Michael Gelb to receive the 2018 Repligen Award

Michael Gelb will receive the prestigious Repligen Award in the Chemistry of Biological Processes from the American Chemical Society’s Division of Biological Chemistry.

April 24, 2017

Michael Gelb receives the 2017 University Faculty Lecture Award

The University of Washington has honored Michael Gelb, Professor and Boris and Barbara L. Weinstein Endowed Chair in Chemistry, with the 2017 University Faculty Lecture Award.

February 28, 2013

Michael Gelb and Frantisek Turecek receive 2013 Gustavus John Esselen Award for Chemistry in the Public Interest

Professors Gelb and Turecek received the 2013 Gustavus John Esselen Award for Chemistry in the Public Interest for their work developing practical and reliable screening methodologies for the early detection of genetic diseases in newborns.

August 6, 2012

Three chemistry faculty elected to Washington State Academy of Sciences

Three UW Department of Chemistry faculty members are among the 37 new members elected to the Washington State Academy of Sciences in recognition of their distinguished and continuing scientific achievements.

March 21, 2012

UW documentary features four Chemistry faculty

Department of chemistry professors Michael Gelb, David Ginger, Alvin Kwiram, and Pradip Rathod, are among the notable UW scientists highlighted in a new documentary released this month.

July 19, 2010

UW team builds artificial enzyme

UW Chemistry professors Michael Gelb and Forrest Michael, in collaboration with Prof. David Baker (UW Biochemistry), have engineered an artificial enzyme capable of catalyzing a bimolecular Diels-Alder reaction with high stereoselectivity and substrate specificity.

July 1, 2010

Professor Michael Gelb Receives 2010 Hopkins Award

Professor Michael Gelb received the 2010 Hopkins Award on Friday May 19, delivering a lecture titled “Newborn Screening for Lysosomal Storage Diseases: Another Triumph for Organic Chemistry”.

December 18, 2009

Michael Gelb elected as AAAS Fellow

Gelb has been elected as a Fellow of the American Association for the Advancement of Science (AAAS).

November 9, 2007

UW-developed newborn screening for lysosomal storage diseases to begin in Illinois

The State of Illinois now requires infants to be screened for five different disease-related cellular enzymes using technology developed by UW faculty.

April 29, 2007

Michael Gelb receives NIH MERIT Award

Gelb’s research is in the area of medicinal enzymology, and the funding will support his work with phospholipase A2.

Next page